Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collection Development @ SJSU Library

Collection Development Policy - Chemical & Materials Engineering

Last Updated: 2018

Programs Supported

Collection development in Chemical & Materials Engineering is designed to support the baccalaureate and masters degree programs offered in the Department of Computer Engineering. The Department of Materials & Chemical Engineering department produce engineers who work in as researchers, chemical and materials process engineers, pharmaceutical engineers, failure analysis engineers, and polymer engineers, to name a few. The graduates and alumni work in the traditional industries of petroleum processing and metallurgy, as well as in industrial sectors as diverse as semiconductors and microelectronics, additive manufacturing, nanotechnology and biotechnology, food engineering and cosmetics engineering, alternative energy and environmental remediation. The department offers the following academic programs:
  • BS in Chemical Engineering
  • BS in Materials Engineering
  • Minor in Materials Science and Engineering
  • MS in Chemical Engineering
  • MS in Materials Engineering

The BS Chemical Engineering, and BS Materials Engineering programs are all accredited by the Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET, www.abet.org.

Existing Resources

The Library’s chemical and materials engineering books are cataloged in R section. The section is located on the 8th floor of the Library. Students and faculty can check out books with unlimited number by using their library card. They can reserve or renew the books by using their online library accounts. The Library subscribes to a number of engineering databases which cover journal articles and other information on biomedical engineering, e.g. Royal Society of Chemistry Journals Online, Science Direct, Web of Science, Ullmann’s Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry, CHEMnetBase, Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology, TOXNET/TOXLINE, ACS Publications, ASM Handbooks, SciFinder, Material ConneXion, Materials Science & Engineering Database, Scopus, Wiley (legacy collection) Academic Search Complete, and Annual Reviews. Full-text of articles can be readily available from these databases. Standard are currently available through ASTM Standards database. In order to support the graduate program, we have ProQuest Dissertations and Theses database. Theses and projects produced by San Jose State University’s graduates are available through the institutional repository called ScholarWorks.

In case of an unavailable article, students and faculty can request it through the Library’s Interlibrary service. Databases are readily accessible on-campus. When off-campus, SJSU ID and SJSUOne Password are required to access to the databases. A subject guide for Biomedical Engineering has been created to help students and faculty conduct research using the Library’s resources (https://libguides.sjsu.edu/cm_eng).

The Materials library located in the lower level of the library is equipped with 500 tabulae of materials for students to explore. Each tabula has QR code that users can scan to gain direct access to Materials ConneXion database for further information on the material. 

Coordination

There is a coordinated effort in the collection development and management for the Chemical & Materials Engineering Department, Industrial Engineering, as well as Chemistry.  

Materials Collected

A.    Special Materials – Physical materials are available in the Materials Library.

B.    Languages – Selection should be primarily in the English language.

Materials Collected

The Library’s collection on Biomedical Engineering is continually revised. The library always maintains the basic and essential materials to support the curriculum and teaching. The program is evolving in biomedical and technological realms and therefore, new materials are regularly added to supplement teaching and learning in those evolving areas. The Library’s continuous subscription to Royal Society of Chemistry Journals Online, Science Direct, Web of Science, Ullmann’s Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry, CHEMnetBase, Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology, TOXNET/TOXLINE, ACS Publications, ASM Handbooks, SciFinder, Material ConneXion, Materials Science & Engineering Database, Scopus, Academic Search Complete, and Annual Reviewss has greatly enhanced the study and research capability of students and faculty. Standard are currently available through ASTM Standards database. In order to support the graduate program, we have ProQuest Dissertations and Theses database. Theses and projects produced by San Jose State University’s graduates are available through the institutional repository called ScholarWorks. Materials Library is a one of a kind place that makes materials available in physical form.

Additionally, three tutorials are created to supplement teaching and learning for both students and faculty. The tutorials are Database Search Strategies and More, Reading a Technical Paper, and Advanced Google. The tutorials are available through the Computer Science, Computer and Software Engineering research guide, as well on Canvas Commons.

Evaluation of Collection

Development of the Chemical & Materials Engineering collection over the next few years will require a concerted effort in working with the Biomedical Engineering faculty to identify changes in the curriculum and to review the library collection to ascertain that the appropriate research materials are available at a level comprehensive enough to support these new areas.  Special attention will be paid to the library resource requirements imposed by the accrediting agency. Access to a greater number of key resources in full text will be emphasized. It is important to keep abreast of the rapid advances in computer and software engineering and the changes in engineering curriculum in order to keep the Library's collection up-to-date. Currently, an effort is being made to make required ISO standards available to faculty and students. An on-going effort will be made in evaluating and selecting print books, e-books, online databases and e-journals by the liaison librarian.