Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collection Development @ SJSU Library

Collection Development Policy -  Industrial & Systems Engineering

Last Updated: 2018

Programs Supported

Collection development in industrial and systems engineering is designed to support the bachelor’s and master's degree programs offered in the Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering. Undergraduate and graduate students are prepared to effectively apply engineering knowledge to the evaluation, design, and operation of complex industrial, service, and governmental systems comprised of people, equipment, and supplies through the application of modeling, measurement, and economic methods. The undergraduate Industrial and Systems Engineering Program (ISE) prepares students for a broad scope of systems analysis and design challenges and includes possible areas of specialization in Manufacturing Process Design; Human Factors and Ergonomics, System Modeling and Simulation, Facilities Planning and Division; Cost Analysis and Control; Total Quality Management; Quality Assurance and Control; Production and Inventory Control.

The MS curriculum prepares engineers helps achieve the goal of ISE in a manufacturing or service organization with specialties in Production and Quality Assurance; Supply Chain and Logistics Engineering; Healthcare and Service Systems Engineering; Human Factors Engineering. This program meets the needs of working professionals for continuing education. A Six Sigma Certificate is available to ISE students and local professionals interested in adding lean manufacturing and quality to the specialty of Production and Quality Assurance.

Consideration is also given to materials which directly support the faculty’s current awareness in their instructional and research specializations. Popular and non-college level materials are limited to highly significant and useful work.

Existing Resources

The University Library serves as the main information and research source for the Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering.  The SJSU Library collection is augmented by consortial agreements with CSU+ and Interlibrary Services.  A large number of university, college, and public libraries are located nearby in the Bay Area, providing a rich source of library resources available to SJSU engineering students and faculty.  Many local industrial and government institutions have ongoing collaborative research with our engineering faculty and allow their resources to be accessed by our students and faculty.  

Coordination

There is a coordinated effort in the collection development and management for the Industrial and Systems Engineering Department and the other SJSU engineering departments as well as with many of the science disciplines.  It is also necessary to maintain a coordinated effort with some areas of the social sciences and business.

Collection Strengths

The Library's print collections and electronic resources in industrial and systems engineering are both strong in general. The basic and essential engineering materials are maintained to support the curriculum and teaching. The continuous subscription and addition of the engineering online databases of Engineering VillageIEEE Xplore, ACM Digital Library, and SPIE Digital Library; and science and technology databases of Academic Search Premier, ScienceDirect and Web of Science has greatly enhanced the study and research capability of students and faculty.  The collection is enhanced by the addition of ASTM Standards & Engineering Digital Library.

Evaluation of Collection

A.    Academic Senate Policy

According to Academic Senate Library Policy S15-10, periodic evaluations of the print collection are required to maintain the high quality of the academic collection, with the primary goals of improving the effectiveness of browsing and providing space for new acquisitions. The objectives include relocating materials, and weeding duplicate materials and materials that support discontinued programs or are no longer relevant for current program. Evaluation of the industrial and systems engineering collection involves not only print materials, but online electronic subscriptions as well.

B.    Evaluation Plans

It is important to keep abreast of the rapid advances in industrial and systems engineering, and the changes in curriculum in order to keep the Library's collection up-to-date. Development of the Industrial and Systems Engineering collection requires a concerted effort in working with the engineering faculty to identify changes in the curriculum and to review the library collection to ascertain that the appropriate research materials are available at a level comprehensive enough to support new areas and to update materials for existing areas of study.  Access to a greater number of key resources in full text will be emphasized, especially in core coursework, standards, journals, and databases.