Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collection Development @ SJSU Library

Collection Development Policy -  Information Systems & Technology

Last Updated: 2018

Programs Supported

The College of Business offers one baccalaureate degree, the BS-Business Administration, with concentrations in various disciplines. All BS students, regardless of desired specialization, must complete an interdisciplinary core of business courses (plus general education and prerequisite courses). Students select an area of specialization in which to concentrate.  One of the concentrations is Management Information Systems, which is coordinated through the School of Information Systems & Technology.

The Concentration in Management Information Systems merges the knowledge of information technologies, systems and management. Students gain practical knowledge and skills in integrating computers and other data/text/image/graphics/voice technologies into the management of business information. Computerized systems are developed as applied information tools for managerial decision making and action taking. Graduates of the MIS concentration will be prepared for careers in the rapidly expanding profession of using information technologies to support management planning and control. 

Existing Resources

The University Library serves as the University's main resource for this subject. The collection is enhanced by access to materials at other libraries through the Interlibrary Loan and CSU+ programs.

Coordination

Business collections are interdisciplinary, and some areas of Information Systems & Technology are also collected by the Engineering, Computer Science, and Economics departments. Responsibility for collection management decisions in these areas of overlap are determined in consultation with librarians responsible for those departments.

Collection Strengths

Databases

The library provides a variety of databases that index journals significant in the area of information systems and technology. Access to business journals is provided through ABI/INFORM, Business Source Complete, and many others. Access to journals on technical topics such as networking, systems analysis, and application development are also readily available (e.g., ACM Digital Library, Engineering Village, etc.). The Interlibrary Loan program provides easy access to articles from journals not available through the library. Additionally, with a San Jose Public Library card, the campus community can learn new technical skills using the Lynda.com online learning site.

Books

In addition to the library's collection of books and ebooks, CSU+ provides quick access to print books from the collections of the 22 other California State University campuses. Faculty and students can use Interlibrary Loan to borrow books outside of the CSU system.