Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collection Development @ SJSU Library

Collection Development Policy -  Marketing & Business Analytics

Last Updated: 2018

Programs Supported

The Department of Marketing and Business Analytics offers a Bachelor of Science degree in Business Administration with concentrations in Marketing and Business Analytics. The Library collection for this Department is designed to support undergraduate study. It also supports the Master degree in Business Administration. 

Concentration in Marketing
The program focuses on all stages of a product’s or service’s development, from the first idea to the end of the product’s useful life.

Concentration in Business Analytics
Focuses on a quantitative approach to business, driven by the intelligent use of data and mathematical models.  Practitioners leverage methods from statistics and operations research to form insights and make decisions that improve business performance. 

Existing Resources

The University Library serves as the University's main resource for this subject. The collection is enhanced by access to materials at other libraries through Interlibrary Services and the CSU+ programs.

Coordination

The interdisciplinary nature of business collections may mean some areas are also collected by the Economics Department, Justice Studies (law), Aviation and Technology (manufacturing/industry management), College of Engineering, Political Science Department, the Psychology Department (consumer/user behavior), the Mass and Media Communication,  and the Urban and Regional Planning Department (transportation). Responsibility for acquisition, cancelation and other collection decisions in these areas of overlap is decided in consultation with faculty and librarians responsible for collection development in these fields.

Collection Strengths

The strength of the Marketing and Business Analytics collection lies in its electronic resources to support research. Company and industry reports and studies are available in electronic format. Some of the electronic databases available include: ABI/INFORM, Academic Search Complete, and Business Source Complete in addition to others.