Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collection Development @ SJSU Library

College of Engineering

Coordination

Engineering related materials are acquired through the joint efforts of the engineering librarians and the engineering faculty. Recommendations are encouraged from students and are honored if the subject matter is appropriate and funds are available. Books are purchased through GOBI. An engineering librarian attends the College of Engineering Curriculum Committee, and work closely with engineering faculty to coordinate purchases of library materials to meet the needs of the changing engineering curricula.

Collecting Level and Format

College of Engineering collects primarily at C1 level providing information about a subject in a systematic way supporting the needs of general library users through undergraduate and master’s degree level programs.  See Appendix A

Materials are purchased in the format that most effectively delivers the information needed by the discipline.  

Collection Strengths

Print Collection

Engineering related materials are acquired through the joint efforts of the engineering collection development librarians and the engineering faculty. Recommendations are encouraged from students and are honored if the subject matter is appropriate and funds are available. Books are purchased through GOBI approval plan, from other vendors, and directly from professional societies. An engineering librarian representative attends the College of Engineering Curriculum Committee.  All of the engineering librarians work closely with engineering faculty to coordinate purchases of library materials to meet the needs of the changing engineering curricula.

Electronic Resources

Access to SJSU's library collection is through an online catalog searchable in the King Library and from remote sites both on and off campus. Users may search by title, author, subject, keyword, call number and other standard numbers.  Ebooks are added to the collection regularly and a list of collections can be found . Students and faculty can easily read ebooks online anywhere at any time via personal computer or other digital devices.

There are many Internet access stations in the King Library. Starting with the , there are links to a large variety of the online electronic resources. Over 400 full-text and bibliographic are available for students and faculty to use. Core engineering related databases include Academic Search Complete, AAIA Publications, ACS Publications, ACM Digital Library, ASCE Database, ASME Digital Library, Engineering Village, GeoRef, IEEE Xplore, ScienceDirect, SciFinder, Scopus, Digital Library, Web of Science, ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library, and Wiley Online Library (legacy collection).  Most of these databases have full-text coverage, so that students and faculty can print or download the complete articles they want to read. 

In addition, the Library subscribes to ProQuest Dissertations & Theses, a primary database for doctoral dissertations and master’s theses which is an essential resource for student and faculty research. SJSU ScholarWorks is a digital service representing scholarship of SJSU faculty and students. Its primary goal is to provide access to and preserve the unique work of the SJSU community.

Blue left arrow icon pointing to the left hand menu

 

Individual departmental pages can be accessed from the left side bar and provide further information specific to the department.