Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collection Development @ SJSU Library

Collection Development Policy - Aviation & Technology

Last Updated: 2018

Programs Supported

The Department of Aviation and Technology offers a B.S. degree in Industrial Technology (accredited by the Association for Technology Management and Applied Engineering, or ATMAE) and a B.S. degree in Aviation.  Either degree can include a minor in Business.

Students who pursue a Bachelor of Science degree in the Industrial Technology program in the Department of Aviation and Technology are required to select courses from one of the following three technical areas of emphasis: Computer Electronics and Network Technology (CENT), Computer Network Systems Management, or Manufacturing Systems (green/sustainable manufacturing). The concentration in Computer Electronics and Network Technology is designed to prepare students for technical and management careers in business and industry, as well as careers in electronics and computer fields. The student gains knowledge, skills, and practical experiences in analog systems, digital systems, telecommunications, control of electronic industrial processes, instrumentation and automation, electronics manufacturing, and microprocessor-based systems design. The concentration in Computer Network Systems Management provides students with knowledge, skills, and practical application in computer networks, operations, administration, and management in careers in telecommunications and network services. The concentration in Manufacturing Systems prepares students for a career in manufacturing design and management to gain knowledge, skills, and practical experiences in innovative manufacturing processes and management, computer integrated manufacturing, robotics and control systems, and computer aided manufacturing.

Students who pursue the B.S. degree in Aviation must select an option in one of the following four areas:  Aviation Management, Maintenance Management, Operations, or Professional Flight.  The Aviation and Maintenance Management options prepare students to work in either a public or private airport or a general aviation company. The Operations option is designed for those students who wish to work in the operations side for a commercial airline, including the position of pilot. In these two options, the students acquire a strong foundation of business and management principles, finance and accounting, information systems, communication skills, and teamwork. The Professional Flight option is designed for those students who wish to obtain basic and advanced pilot ratings with the overall goal of working as a professional pilot.

Existing Resources

The University Library serves as the main information and research source for the Department of Aviation & Technology.  The SJSU Library collection is augmented by consortia agreements with CSU+ and Interlibrary Services.  A large number of university, college, and public libraries are located nearby in the Bay Area, providing a rich source of library resources available to SJSU students and faculty.  Many local industrial and government institutions have ongoing collaborative research with our faculty and allow their resources to be accessed by our students and faculty.

Coordination

There may be areas of Business in the San Jose Public Library (SJPL) collection, especially with SJPL Works and Lynda.com resources, that would complement some of the courses in the Department of Aviation & Technology and would support the minor in business management that many students complete.

There is a coordinated effort in the collection development and management for the Department of Aviation & Technology and the other SJSU engineering departments, as well as, with many of the science disciplines.  It is also necessary to maintain a coordinated effort with some areas of business and social sciences.

Collection Strengths

Undergraduate materials in Aviation and Technology are strong in general for the emphases and options currently offered by the department, because the current emphases overlap with several other departments on campus, including Aerospace, Chemical & Materials Engineering, Computer and Electrical Engineering, Industrial & Systems Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Business, Computer Science, and Mathematics.

Evaluation of Collection

A.    Academic Senate Policy
According to Academic Senate Library Policy S15-10, periodic evaluations of the print collection are required to maintain the high quality of the academic collection, with the primary goals of improving the effectiveness of browsing and providing space for new acquisitions. The objectives include relocating materials, and weeding duplicate materials and materials that support discontinued programs or are no longer relevant for current programs. Evaluation of the Technology collection involves print materials (books and journals) and electronic resources (databases and journals and e-books).

B.    Evaluation Plans

Development of the Aviation and Technology collection requires a concerted effort in working with the engineering faculty to identify changes in the curriculum and to review the library collection to ascertain that the appropriate research materials are available at a level comprehensive enough to support new areas and to update materials for existing areas.  Access to a greater number of key resources in full text will be emphasized, particularly items such as journals, technical reports, and standards.