Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collection Development @ SJSU Library

Collection Development Policy - Nutrition, Food Science & Packaging

Last Updated: 2018

Programs Supported

BS, Nutritional Science
BS, Nutritional Science, Concentration in Dietetics
BS, Nutritional Science, Concentration in Food Management
BS, Packaging
Minor, Nutritional Science and Food Science
Minor, Nutrition for Physical Performance
Minor, Packaging
MS, Nutritional Science

Bachelor of Science in Nutritional Science

The Bachelor of Science program in Nutritional Science integrates the principles of chemical, biological, and social sciences. The B.S. program prepares graduates for careers as nutritionists, packaging professionals, dietitians, and foodservice professionals in educational institutions, acute (hospital) and long term care facilities, nutrition and food research laboratories, business and industries, and community and government agencies.
BS - Packaging Concentration

The field of packaging includes disciplines of engineering, graphic design, project management, advertising, and material science.  SJSU's Packaging Program is one of a handful of programs in the USA providing technical expertise in the multidisciplinary field. The number of potential jobs for graduates and careers available with a background in packaging is driven by not only the uniqueness of the skills learned by the students but also by the fact that there are very few places to learn the skills necessary to design and develop package systems.

Master of Science in Nutritional Science

Our Master of Science (MS) program is designed to meet the needs of the student who has a baccalaureate degree and who wishes advanced preparation in nutrition science, nutrition education, geriatric nutrition, foodservice/restaurant management and packaging. The program is intended to prepare candidates to assume leadership roles in their profession and community, and to provide the opportunity to acquire a foundation for doctoral study. Our MS graduates have earned doctorates, become college or university faculty, been employed in private, federal and state research institutions, or have established their own private practice or consulting business. In the process of fulfilling requirements for the MS degree, it is possible to complete the academic requirements of The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (AND) and the Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics (ACEND) toward becoming a registered dietitian. Courses are scheduled to accommodate the time needs of working graduate students.

Minors

The Nutrition, Food Science and Packaging Department offers three 15-unit Minors designed to complement many majors. Minors in Nutrition and Food Science, Packaging, Nutrition for Physical Performance are available.

SJSU Didactic Program in Dietetics (DPD) and Dietetic Internship (DI)

The Didactic Program in Dietetics (DPD) provides students with the competencies, knowledge and skills required of the dietetics professional for practice roles of today and the future. The program helps students to develop critical thinking skills and problem solving ability in clinical and community nutrition and food service management. The Dietetics curriculum includes support courses from the social, physical, and life sciences. Students have the option to select elective courses outside the major and/or to complete minors in business, chemistry, education, gerontology, health science, human performance, journalism, or other areas. In addition, with the appropriate coursework, students are also prepared for advanced degrees (M.S.) and post baccalaureate education (Dietetic Internships).

Existing Resources

The University Library serves as the main resource for this subject.  The collection is enhanced by access to materials at other CSU libraries and through Interlibrary Services. Public Library collections in the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Library provide students and faculty with a ready source of popular nutrition and food science materials, facilitating the study of popular responses to nutritional issues and trends.

Coordination

Considerable overlap exists between Nutrition/Food Science and several other disciplines--particularly Chemistry, Biology, Nursing, Health Professions, Hospitality Management, Engineering, Human Performance, Business, Technology, and Engineering. Responsibility for acquisition of items in these areas of overlap is decided in consultation with librarians responsible for collection development in the fields noted above.

In some areas the collection also duplicates materials found in the main branch of the San Jose Public Library (SJPL).  SJSU coordinates collection development with the SJPL, specifically in the areas of Chemical Technology and Domestic Engineering.

Materials Collected

Materials are purchased in the format that most effectively delivers the information needed by the discipline.  Materials will generally be in the English language. 

Cookbooks are not generally collected unless they include significant nutritional information or sections on cultural and ethnic food habits.

Collection Strengths 

The collection’s strengths are in materials on food science and technology, cultural influences on food, nutrition and diet, food microbiology, foodservice production, diet therapy, among others.  Due to the interdisciplinary nature of this program collections in Biology, Engineering, Health Science, and Business supplement the collection in this program.  A variety of databases in Nutrition and other disciplines, such as, PubMed, CINAHL, Science Direct, ABI/Inform are valuable resources for research.  The Newspaper databases, such  as, Proquest Newspapers and Nexis Uni support Cultural Celebration research projects.

Evaluation of Collection

Future objectives for evaluation of the Nutrition, Food Science and Packaging collection include replacement of essential books missing from the collection.  Periodic review of the collection, with faculty input, helps to maintain a high quality of the collection.  

The liaison librarian selects materials in consultation with the teaching faculty, and also by using appropriate selection tools, such as, review sources, and other subject lists. New electronic sources including databases in this subject area will be considered if appropriate.