Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collection Development @ SJSU Library

Collection Development Policy -  Child & Adolescent Development

Last Updated: March, 2018

Programs Supported

Materials are selected to support the undergraduate and graduate programs in the Child and Adolescent Development Department (ChAD).  The ChAD curriculum encompasses all aspects of children and adolescents: physical, medical, social, psychological, environmental and theoretical research. The ChAD's major provides students with a broad liberal education with an emphasis on human development in infancy, childhood and adolescence.  It supports teaching and human services careers. 

The department offers the following programs:

Undergraduate Level: BA in ChAD
Graduate Level: MA in ChAD

 

          ChAD Program Learning Outcomes:

The department has defined seven critical program learning outcomes (PLOs) that student should expect to achieve by the completion of their baccalaureate (BA) or masters (MA) degree.  Note that the core PLOs are very similar for both BA and MA students but the level of achievement differs for the two degree programs.  The PLOs are:

  • Demonstrate knowledge of child and adolescent development in four major domains (cognitive, emotional, social, and physical) and understand the interrelationships among these domains.
  • Understand the role of context in the growth and development of children and adolescents and their socialization by family, community, society, and culture.
  • Apply research, theory, and problem-solving skills to social policy, education, intervention, and practical situations pertaining to children and adolescents.
  • Examine and evaluate information about children and adolescents from a variety of sources.
  • Demonstrate inquisitiveness about the development of children and adolescents by articulating appropriate and logical questions and methods for seeking answers to those questions.
  • Demonstrate communication and interpersonal skills for facilitating the development of children and adolescents and meeting the challenges of working with other professionals. 
  • Understand ethical and advocacy responsibilities in working with and on behalf of children and adolescents.

ChAD operates a campus laboratory preschool which enrolls children from ages 2 through 5 years in two programs: toddlers (age 2), and a multi-age group (ages 3-5).

Existing Resources

The University Library serves as the main resource for this subject area.  It contains books, periodicals, reference materials, electronic resources and services relevant to the Child and Adolescent Development Department.  The materials cross disciplines widely and may be found within the subject areas of other disciplines such as psychology, education, medicine, etc. 

The Library houses on the Seventh Floor in the Educational Resource Center, the Learning Resources Display Center (LRDC), sponsored by the California Department of Education. The LRDC is a cooperative endeavor between San Jose State University and the Santa Clara County Office of Education. It contains K-8 print  instructional materials adopted by the State of California.  It supports the Teacher Education programs of the Child and Adolescent Development Department. The Library also houses in the Lower Level an historical collection of California K-8 textbooks supporting courses offered by the ChAD faculty. 

Coordination

The ChAD liaison works in tandem with the Elementary Education, Secondary Education, Educational Administration & Leadership, , Counselor Education, Curriculum, Special Education, Communicative Disorders and Sciences and Psychology liaisons; other liaisons are consulted as necessary. Responsibility for acquisition of items in these areas of overlap is decided in consultation with librarians responsible for collection development in the fields noted above.

One of the Education liaisons sits as a voting member on the College of Education Curriculum Committee—a committee comprised of one representative from each of the eight departments, college leadership and others. Membership on this committee allows proactive participation in changing the curriculum, offering new courses and obtaining new resources necessary to support the College of Education.

In a very few areas, the SJSU education collection duplicates materials found in the main branch of the San Jose Public Library (SJPL).  The ChAD liaison coordinates collection development with SJPL in the following categories:

● Home Schooling (all categories)
● Categories marked D in “Subjects collected”

Materials Collected

Materials are purchased in the format that most effectively delivers the information needed by the discipline.

Collection Strengths

The strength of the ChAD collection is the growing number of electronic resources available to support on and off campus programs. This is due to heavy faculty and student demand for off campus access to research and resources.  Some of the resources used by the ChAD faculty and students are shared with other disciplines.  Most notably, PsycInfo, Medline, Education Research Complete, and others which support the wide variety of topics researched by ChAD faculty and students.

Evaluation of Collection 

Resources for the Child and Adolescent Development collection are selected after consulting with the faculty. Recommendations from the faculty and the students are the first priority.  The ALA EBSS listserv, which is a listserv dedicated to education and social science librarians, is another source of recommended library resources.  The database CHOICE, sponsored by ALA, is another frequently used resource to identify important educational resources.