Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collection Development @ SJSU Library

Collection Development Policy -  Public Health and Recreation

Last Updated: 2018

Programs Supported

Selection for this discipline is designed to support the undergraduate and graduate study leading to:

  • B.S. in Public Health
  • B.S. in Public Health, Concentration in Health Services Administration
  • B.S. Recreation, Concentration in Recreation Therapy 
  • B.S. Recreation, Concentration in Recreation Management 
  • Minor in Public Health
  • Minor in Health Professions
  • Masters of Public Health

A degree in Public Health prepares students for employment in health care agencies, community organizations, industries, and a wide range of health promotion initiatives. The selection also supports the Masters in Public Health degree that develops skilled and responsible health care professionals who are concerned with values relating to the mental, physical, and social development of people, as well as the development and maintenance of a healthy environment in organizations, communities, and industries.  This degree is offered both on campus and as a special distance program.  A majority of the materials considered for the collection should be easily available to distance students and faculty.

The Recreation program leads to a BS degree in Recreation with one of two emphases: Recreation Management or Therapeutic Recreation.  These two emphases are offered to meet the changing employment demands for qualified recreation personnel.  Within these emphases, related courses are selected from various departments which will help prepare students for employment in therapeutic recreation (hospitals, rehabilitation centers, park and recreation departments, school settings), private/commercial/tourism organizations (theme parks, private clubs, travel agencies, ecotourism), and with public and nonprofit park and recreation agencies.  

Existing Resources

The University Library serves as the University's main resource for public health and recreation. The collection is enhanced by access to materials at other libraries through Inter-Library Loan. Inter-Library Loan is a document delivery service with national collaboration.

Coordination

Public Health and Recreation faculty and students are involved not only in their subject-specific areas but also in interdisciplinary research. Therefore coordination is needed with the following departments, but it is also not limited to, Nursing, Nutrition, Occupational Therapy, Kinesiology, Gerontology, Psychology, Education, Business, Social Work, Sociology, and Environmental Studies.

Materials Collected

Materials are purchased in the format that most effectively delivers the information needed by the discipline.

Collection Strengths 

The collections for health sciences are strongest in epidemiology, public health, and health education. CSU+ and Interlibrary Loan allow students to borrow books that the main library does not own. 
 

Evaluation of Collection

The liaison librarian selects materials primarily in consultation with teaching faculty, but also by consulting appropriate, professional resources. The liaison librarian will monitor the online availability of Public Health and Health Science periodicals and databases and switch to online access whenever possible.