Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collection Development @ SJSU Library

Collection Development Policy -  Hospitality, Tourism & Event Management

Last Updated: 2018

Programs Supported

Hospitality, Tourism, and Event Management is an innovative, interdisciplinary program encompassing other disciplines: Accounting and Finance, Entrepreneurship, Human Resources Management, Marketing, and Operations Management in the College of Business. The Hospitality Tourism, and Event Management degree incorporates multi-cultural focused academic study in hotel and lodging, food and beverage, tourism, and event management with professional experiences designed to facilitate students' transition to their chosen careers.  San Jose State University offers a bachelor of science degree (BS) in Hospitality, Tourism, and Event Management, as well as a minor in Event Management and Hotel and Restaurant Management. Beginning Fall 2017 all majors are required to participate in an international educational experience for a minimum of 9 days.

Existing Resources

The University Library serves as the University’s main resource for Hospitality, Recreation, and Tourism Management materials.  Hospitality, Recreation, and Tourism Management is an established discipline which is becoming increasingly interdisciplinary.  The collection includes books and periodicals as well as electronic and multi-media resources. Films are collected by the Library in streaming format. *DVDs are housed in the IRC. The San Jose Public Library collection also includes important resources for business creation and small business operations.

Coordination

Some overlap exists between Hospitality, Recreation, and Tourism Management and other disciplines in the SJSU curriculum. Materials on accounting, marketing and industry research, human resources, and operations management are collected for the College of Business. Resources on food management and safety are also collected for the department of Nutrition, Food Science, and Packaging. The departments of Psychology, Sociology, and Communications Studies also collect recreational and management aspects of Hospitality and Tourism.

Materials Collected

Materials are purchased in the format (printed book, ebook, DVDs, etc.) that most effectively delivers the information needed by the discipline. The geographical areas are not limited to the United States because of the need to support courses concerning international press, world affairs, ecotourism and intercultural communication.

Collection Strengths

The library provides access to a variety of online and print resources in hospitality to support teaching at the undergraduate level, secondary support is for faculty research. The hospitality topics included in our collection are: resort and club management, tourism, food management, event planning, and hospitality management around the world. Access to these resources is provided through the Hospitality and Tourism Complete database, as well as our large collection of business databases, such as ABI Inform and Business Source Complete.

Evaluation of Collection 

The evaluation of the collection is an ongoing process and includes; the evaluation of library usage statistics for print and online resources, review of the HSPM curriculum, as well as feedback from students and faculty. Most of the collection is built by faculty requests, as well as monthly reviews of new materials in the field, discoverable through Choice Reviews and GOBI. The main goal of collection evaluation is to determine whether the library collection meets the needs of student and faculty research, as well as how the collection is being used in order to inform future purchases and budgeting decisions.  During the evaluation process, a review of related disciplines will also be conducted, such as accounting and finance, human resources and marketing.