Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collection Development @ SJSU Library

Collection Development Policy -  Environmental Studies

Last Updated: December 2018

Programs Supported

The Bachelor of Science degree in Environmental Studies is designed to prepare students for career opportunities in water resource management, biological resource protection, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, environmental health and safety, environmental impact assessment, environmental restoration, and wilderness, park, and open space resource management.

  • BS in Environmental Studies, Concentration in Energy
  • BS in Environmental Studies, Concentration in Environmental Impact Assessment
  • BS in Environmental Studies, Concentration in Environmental Restoration and Resource Management
  • BS in Environmental Studies Other Minors

The Bachelor of Arts degree in Environmental Studies is designed to prepare students for career opportunities in environmental resource management, environmental communications, environmental design, environmental regulation and policy, integrated waste management, human ecology, government agencies, non-governmental organizations, environmental planning and environmental advocacy.

  • BA in Environmental Studies
  • BA in Environmental Studies, Other Minors

The Bachelor of Arts in Environmental Studies, Preparation for Teaching is designed for students interested in teaching in elementary school or middle school.  Students who wish to pursue a high school teaching career should complete a BA or BS in Environmental Studies in consultation with the advisor.

Minors in Environmental Studies include: 

  • Environmental Studies
  • Energy Policy and Green Building
  • Park Ranger & Administration
  • Sustainable Water Resources 

The Master of Science in Environmental Studies is designed to prepare students for careers as environmental professionals or to pursue further academic training in Ph.D. and other advanced degree programs. See the Graduate Program webpage for a full list of degree concentrations.

Existing Resources

The University Library serves as the University’s main resource for this subject. 

Environmental Studies Resources

The Environmental Resource Center (ERC) is a student-run organization at San José State University (SJSU), connected to the Department of Environmental Studies, and funded by the Associated Students and Transportation Solutions. Since the early 1970s, the ERC has served SJSU with an annual Earth Day celebration, an environmental library, and other projects that promote sustainable living. 

The Center for the Development of Recycling (CDR) is a university-based, non-profit, environmental research and service organization that was established in 1989. It is located in the Department of Environmental Studies and stewarded by the SJSU Foundation. At the CDR, faculty-managed students work on environment-related projects for businesses, government agencies, consultants, and non-profit organizations.

Coordination

Environmental Studies is an interdisciplinary field of studies which often means that acquisition of material resources and expertise are coordinated with various other disciplines (Biology, Geology, Meteorology and Climate Science, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Urban and Regional Planning, Geography, Global Studies, Economics, Business, Political Science and others).

SJSU book collections focus on academic areas such as methodology, philosophy, policy, history, economics (e.g. global trade), law, transportation, consumer awareness and marketing, planning, restoration, and sustainability (e.g. energy and agriculture).  San Jose Public Library purchases books in general and popular aspects of environmental politics, citizen involvement, science, and employment.  

Collection Strengths

Strengths include materials for prospective teachers of Environmental Studies, general studies in the area of the impact of climate change, focused collections on restoration areas, impact of environmental degradation on specific environments, and case studies on environmental justice issues.   

Evaluation of Collection – Plans

A.    Present collections

Current studies are supported by the books, databases and streaming video collections found through the Environmental Studies research guide:  https://libguides.sjsu.edu/environmental_studies

B.   Future Evaluation Plans

Materials are needed in the areas of environmental impact of global trade, alternative energy resources, sustainable agriculture, and environmental research methods.  A goal for this collection is the acquisition of a full-text environmental science electronic databases to support the research and teaching of the department.

Future objectives for evaluation of the Environmental Studies collections include:

● Replacement of essential materials that are missing
● Weeding of materials that are damaged or become obsolete, essential titles will be replaced
● Selection of monographs to support the curriculum and to remedy deficiencies in the present collection, according to the orientation of instruction and research.
● Acquire new periodical subscriptions as funds permit.
● Acquire web-based indexes/abstracts as budget permits.