Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collection Development @ SJSU Library

Collection Development Policy - Global Innovation & Leadership

Last Updated: 2018

Programs Supported

Selection for the School of Global Innovation and Leadership supports a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration. Areas of concentration include Entrepreneurship, Global Operations Management, and International Business.

Concentration in Entrepreneurship
Prepares students with a drive for innovation and the passion to create new businesses, to be entrepreneurs, or corporate innovators. 

Concentration in Global Operations Management
Prepares students for careers in global manufacturing, service, and consulting organizations by offering a variety of courses in management of materials, quality, supply chains, services, global projects, and operations strategy.


Concentration in International Business
Designed to prepare its graduates for careers in handling all aspects surrounding global businesses. In addition students may select an area of specialization, either a business functional area, an industry area, a geographic area of study, or language studies.

Existing Resources

The University Library serves as the University's main resource for this subject. The collection is enhanced by access to materials at other libraries through Interlibrary Loan and the CSU+ programs.

Coordination

Some collection areas may overlap with the Economics Department (managerial economics), the Political Science Department (public administration), the History Department (labor and business history) and the Urban and Regional Planning Department (urban policy and management). Responsibility for acquisition, cancelation and other collection decisions in these areas of overlap is decided in consultation with faculty and librarians responsible for collection development in these fields.

This area includes materials that give broad overviews on the topic of business. General topics in business are also included in the public library collection.

SJSU will coordinate collection development with the SJPL especially in the following categories:

● General Business (Business Planning)
● Business Biographies
● Business Directories
● Business Communication
● Cultural Diversity and Business
● Entrepreneurship
● Small Business Consulting
● Supervision
● California Business Information
● Human Resource Management

Collection Strengths 

The library's print and digital collections are both strong in the area of global innovation and leadership. The library provides access to significant journals in this field through its databases, which include Business Source Complete, CountryWatch, IBISWorld, and more. Additionally, with a San Jose Public Library card, the campus community can get access to the databases PrivCo and Reference USA. See the Business research guides for annotated lists of the databases available:  http://libguides.sjsu.edu/

The print collection is also robust. In addition, CSU+ provides quick access to print books from the collections of the 22 other California State University campuses. Faculty and students can also use Interlibrary Loan to borrow books outside of the CSU system.