Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collection Development @ SJSU Library

Collection Development - Management

Last Updated: 2018

Programs Supported

The College of Business offers one baccalaureate degree, the BS-Business Administration, with concentrations in various disciplines. All BS students, regardless of desired specialization, must complete an interdisciplinary core of business courses (plus general education and prerequisite courses). Students select an area of specialization in which to concentrate.  Two of the concentrations are Management and Human Resource Management, which are coordinated through the School of Management.

Human Resource Management

The Human Resource Management concentration provides the academic foundation for careers focused on the acquisition, development and effective utilization of the human resources of an individual organization and the economic system as a whole. This area of study provides a broad background that prepares graduates for the opportunities and significant challenges of human resource management, including legal issues in employment, recruitment and staffing, training, management and employee development, employment and union-management relations, compensation and benefits management, evaluation of employee performance, national human resource policies and programs, organizational private and public sector organizations.

Management

The concentration in Management is fundamentally designed to prepare its graduates for careers in management in all forms of business: public or private, foreign or domestic. The objective is to teach the fundamental principles underlying organizations, to emphasize thought processes, the analytical tools of management, and techniques involved in evaluating problems and making sound decisions.  Attention is focused on systems and quantitative analysis, behavioral science, the environment and the forces/processes of change within organizations.


The School of Management also includes the Institute for People and Performance (IPP). The Institute aspires to be a center of excellence aimed at advancing knowledge of human capital management and offers Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) certification and recertification programs.

Existing Resources

The University Library serves as the University's main resource for this subject. The collection is enhanced by access to materials at other libraries through the Interlibrary Loan and CSU+ programs.

Coordination

Some areas are also collected by the Economics (managerial economics), Global Innovation & Leadership (management), Political Science (public administration), History (labor and business history), Psychology (organizational psychology), and Urban and Regional Planning (urban policy and management) departments. Responsibility for acquisition, cancellation and other collection decisions in these areas of overlap is decided in consultation with  the librarians responsible for collection development in these fields.

Collection Strengths

Databases

The number of digital resources available to support student and faculty research is a major strength of the Business collection at SJSU. Through the library databases, students and faculty have access to millions of articles and thousands of journals and ebooks. Additionally, with a San Jose Public Library card, the campus community can get access to the databases PrivCo and Reference USA. See the Business research guides for annotated lists of the databases available:  http://libguides.sjsu.edu/

Books

The print collection is also robust. In addition to the library's collection of books and ebooks, CSU+ provides quick access to print books from the collections of the 22 other California State University campuses. Faculty and students can use Interlibrary Loan to borrow books outside of the CSU system. Plans for the future include strengthening the number of resources available in the areas of market research and international business.