Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collection Development @ SJSU Library

Collection Development Policy -  Global Studies

Last Updated: 2018

Programs Supported

Selection in this subject is designed to support undergraduate teaching leading to an interdisciplinary BA degree in Global Studies.  It is also possible to obtain a Minor in Global Studies.  Students pursuing a BA in Global Studies will develop in-depth understanding of international flows of information, business, technologies, ideologies, people, values, and materials, and how these flows affect cultures, economies, politics, and environments for individuals, communities, and nations. The Department also offers a Global Citizenship Certificate program.

Existing Resources

The University Library serves as the University’s main resource for this subject.

Coordination

Collection coordination is as noted below in section IV.  Also, the collecting activities of the several disciplines provide many materials that are useful to students in the Global Studies program.  See also the collection development policies for Political Science, Social Sciences, Humanities, History, Environmental Studies, Health Sciences, Business, Geography, and Economics.

Overlap with the circulating collection of SJPL is minimal.

Materials Collected

Materials are collected in the format which most effectively meets the needs of the academic department.

Collection Strengths

The library has a good collection of monographs in the interdisciplinary areas of Global Studies.  Some of the electronic databases that support the Global Studies program are: Academic Search Premiere, Web of Science, ABI/INFORM Global, Lexis/Nexis Academic, Social Sciences Full Text, and ABC-CLIO World Geography.  Examples of electronic journal subscriptions are:  Journal of Ethnic and Migration Studies, International Journal of Urban and Regional Research, Journal of Contemporary Ethnography: a journal of ethnographic research, China Business Review,  International Journal of Commerce and Management, and the Journal of World History.

Evaluation of Collection

The ultimate goal is to build and maintain a collection of resources in all different formats to support the teaching within the department.  Special care is given to obtain resources to best support the curriculum as it is presently being taught.  Input on potential purchases is sought from Faculty as well as gleaned from academic journals, catalogs of scholarly publishers, and other similar sources.