Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collection Development @ SJSU Library

Collection Development Policy -  Kinesiology

Last Updated: 2018

Programs Supported

Selection for this discipline is designed to support the undergraduate study leading to:

  • B.S. in Kinesiology
  • B.S. in Athletic Training Program
  • B.S. in Kinesiology, Preparation for Teaching
  • Minor in Kinesiology 

The selection also supports graduate study leading to:

  • B.S. in Kinesiology
  • Masters in Kinesiology
  • Masters in Athletic Training Program
  • Masters in Kinesiology, Concentration in Exercise Physiology
  • Masters in Kinesiology, Concentration in Sports Management
  • Masters in Kinesiology, Concentration in Sport Studies

The curriculum prepares students for the baccalaureate degree and fosters in students an understanding and appreciation of, and commitment to, human movement as it contributes to the quality of living and development of the whole person.  The discipline encompasses the study of the human organism in work, play, games, sport, aquatics, dance, and other forms of human movement and many students continue their studies in graduate school. The selection also supports the Masters in Kinesiology degree with concentrations in Athletic Training, Exercise Physiology, Sports Management and Sport Studies. The graduate program develops skilled and responsible professionals to work in corporate, community and clinical exercise settings, careers in the allied healthcare professions, and gain entrance into nationally-recognized doctoral programs.

Existing Resources

The University Library serves as the University’s main resource for materials regarding Kinesiology. The collection is enhanced by access to materials at other libraries through Inter-Library Loan. Inter-Library Loan is a document delivery service with national collaboration.

Coordination

Kinesiology faculty and students are involved not only in their subject-specific areas but also in interdisciplinary research. Therefore coordination is needed with the following departments, but it is also not limited to, Business, Psychology, Education, Nutrition, Occupational Therapy, Biology, History, Journalism and Mass Communications, Social Work, Sociology, Health Science, and Recreation.

Materials Collected

Materials are purchased in the format that most effectively delivers the information needed by the discipline.

Collection Strengths 

The collection's strengths are in materials encompassing the history and development of sporting activities in America, including social, economic and political factors. The collection emphasizes Biomechanics and all aspects of Motor Development.  In those two areas, the Health Sciences and Sports Medicine collections provides basic and supplementary materials.   Teacher training and administrator and coaching materials are specifically collected and supplemented by the collections of the College of Education.  Sports Psychology and Sports Sociology, because of some specific faculty interests, are particularly strong collection holdings.  The Sociology and the Psychology collections supplement the Kinesiology collections in these areas. CSU+ and Interlibrary Loan allow students to borrow books that the main library does not own. 

Evaluation of Collection 

Future objectives for evaluation of the Kinesiology collection include the replacement of essential works that are found missing in the inventory. The liaison librarian selects materials primarily in consultation with teaching faculty, but also by consulting appropriate, professional resources. The liaison librarian will monitor the online availability of Kinesiology periodicals and databases and switch to online access whenever possible.