Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collection Development @ SJSU Library

Collection Development Policy -  Electrical Engineering

Last Updated: 2018

Programs Supported

Collection development in electrical engineering is designed to support the bachelor’s and master's degree programs offered in the Department of Electrical Engineering. The Department of Electrical Engineering at San Jose State University is a leading provider of engineering talents to Silicon Valley's high-tech industry. Through extensive hands-on laboratory, industry internship programs and rigorous course work, the accredited program provides the students with a balanced engineering education. The BS Electrical Engineering program is accredited by the Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET, www.abet.org 

Selection for this discipline is designed to support the up-to-date curriculum within theoretical and practical areas of wireless communications, machine learning: analog, digital and mixed signal circuits; integrated circuits (IC); computer architectures and embedded systems; control and robotics; power/energy systems; and network security.

Consideration is also given to materials that directly support the faculty’s current awareness in their instructional and research specializations. Popular and non-college level materials are limited to highly significant and useful work.

Existing Resources

The University Library serves as the main information and research source for the Department of Electrical Engineering.  The SJSU Library collection is augmented by consortial agreements with CSU+ and Interlibrary Services.  A large number of university, college, and public libraries are located nearby in the Bay Area, providing a rich source of library resources available to SJSU engineering students and faculty.  Many local industrial and government institutions have ongoing research with our engineering faculty and allow their resources to be accessed by our students and faculty as well.

Coordination

There is a coordinated effort in collection development and management for the Electrical Engineering Department and the other SJSU engineering departments, as well as, with many of the science disciplines, most notably Physics, Mathematics and Computer Science.  It is also necessary to maintain a coordinated effort with some areas of the social sciences.

Collection Strengths

The Library's print collections and electronic resources in electrical engineering are both strong in general. The basic and essential engineering materials are maintained to support the curriculum, teaching, and research. The continuous subscriptions and addition of the engineering online databases of Engineering Village, IEEE Xplore, ACM Digital Library, and SPIE Digital Library; and science and technology databases of Academic Search Complete, ScienceDirect and Web of Science have greatly enhanced the study and research capability of students and faculty. 

Evaluation of Collection

A.    Academic Senate Policy

According to Academic Senate Library Policy S15-10, periodic evaluations of the print collection are required to maintain the high quality of the academic collection, with the primary goals of improving the effectiveness of browsing and providing space for new acquisitions. The objectives include relocating materials, and weeding duplicate materials and materials that support discontinued programs or are no longer relevant for current program. Evaluation of the electrical engineering involves not only print materials, but online electronic subscriptions as well.

B.    Evaluation Plans

Objectives for evaluation of the electrical engineering collections include evaluating the electrical engineering online databases and open access resources.

It is important to keep abreast of the rapid advances in electrical engineering and the changes in curriculum in order to keep the Library's collection up-to-date. 

Development of the Electrical Engineering collection requires a concerted effort in working with the engineering faculty to identify changes in the curriculum and to review the library collection to ascertain that the appropriate research materials are available at a level comprehensive enough to support new areas and to update materials for existing areas of study.  Access to a greater number of key resources in full text will be emphasized, especially in core coursework, standards, journals, and databases.