Skip to main content

Permalinks

Learn how to create permanent URLs for the library's electronic resources: databases, journals, articles, ebooks, etc

ASP Links

In the upper right hand corner of most Alexander Street Press (ASP) webpages, look for this graphic  Permalink Graphic    to locate a permalink.  The audio/video databases use a text phrase "embed/link" for permalinks and this link is found with the citation or description.

You will need to add the library proxy URL to most of the Alexander Street Press databases.

Example 1:

1.  Click on the permalink graphic in the upper right hand corner and copy the link in  the "share this page" box.

http://lit.alexanderstreet.com/v4/services/tinyurl.resolver.aspx?tinyurl=53ZO

2.  Next add the library proxy URL in front of the ASP URL.

http://libaccess.sjlibrary.org/login?url=http://lit.alexanderstreet.com/v4/services/tinyurl.resolver.aspx?tinyurl=53ZO

 

2.  In this next example, again, click on the permalink graphic located in the upper right hand corner.  This time a box will open for you to copy the "static URL."

http://solomon.tinyurl.alexanderstreet.com/25

Next add the library proxy URL in front of the ASP URL.

http://libaccess.sjlibrary.org/login?url=http://solomon.tinyurl.alexanderstreet.com/25

 

asp3 description of link

 

3.  This example shows the Embed/Link.  A box appears after clicking on the Embed/Link.  The Proxy Prefix is included so you only need to copy the entire URL.  No editing or adding on your part!

 

 

 

 

 

 

ASP Databases

Below is a list of ASP databases.  For the most current list, please visit the A-Z Databases list.

American Civil War Letters and Diaries.
American Civil War Research Database.
American Film Scripts.
Asian American Drama.
Audio Drama: The L.A. Theatre Works Collection.
Black Drama.
Black Short Fiction and Folklore from Africa and the African Diaspora.
Black Thought and Culture.
Black Women Writers.
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries.
Caribbean Literature.
Contemporary World Music.
Counseling and Therapy in Video, Volume I & II.
Dance in Video.
Education in Video.
Gilded Age.
Images of the American Civil War - photographs, posters, and ephemera.
In the First Person.  - Open Access.  Proxy URL is not needed
Irish women poets of the Romantic period.
Jazz Music Library.
Latin American women writers.
Latino Literature.
Music Online:  American Song.
Music Online:  Classical Music Library.
Music Online:  Classical Music Reference Library.
Music online: classical scores library.
Music Online:  Smithsonian Global Sound.
Music Online:  The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories.
North American Theater Online.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries.
Opera in video.
Oral History Online.
Scottish women poets of the Romantic period.
Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online.
South and Southeast Asian Literature.
The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives, 1960 to 1974.
Theatre in video.
Underground and independent comics, comix and graphic novels.
Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000 Scholar Edition.