Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music: Collected Editions

A guide to identifying and locating music works published in collections owned at the SJSU Library

Index to Printed Music

Searching tips

The Index to Printed Music: Collections & Series is a database that indexes individual pieces of music printed in standard scholarly editions. The IPM is an online version of an index originally compiled by Anna Harriet Heyer. It was later updated and expanded by George R. Hill and Norris L. Stephens.

The online Index to Printed Music does not yet index all collected editions but has very good coverage of composer’s works. It allows for searching by composer, title, editor, text author, format (e.g. full score or vocal score), performing forces (instrument or ensemble type), genre, language, and many other options and combinations. A search in IPM on Handel’s Messiah retrieves several dozen citations, including the following for the historical collection, the Hallische Händel-Ausgabe (HHA).

Composer:

Handel, George Frideric, 1685-1759.

Uniform Title:

Messiah.

Collection:

Hallische Händel-Ausgabe., [1955]. series 1, v. 17 - p. 1-280

Editor:

Tobin, John, 1891

Format:

full score

Language:

English;   German

Genre:

Oratorio

Instrumentation:

Soloists: soprano, 2 alto (altus), tenor, bass, Ensemble: 2 sopranos, alto (altus), tenor, bass, 2 oboes, 2 bassoons, 2 trumpets, 2 violins, viola, violoncello, continuo

Practical Editions:

vocal lines Bärenreiter 4012b;   vocal lines Bärenreiter 4012a;   fP Bärenreiter 4012;   miniature score TP 175

Notes:

Figured bass realized in recitatives only

Authority Thematic Catalog Number:

 

B.56

Master Bibl. No.:

H2362

D1:

H2362-1170, 1-280

Database:

INDEX

 Note that the IMP listing includes information that you won’t find in the Oxford Music Online’s works list, such as the existence of “practical editions” (i.e. performance editions based on the critical edition), the name of the editor, and the note about the figured bass notation. The Master Bibl. No. refers to the number assigned in the IMP to the entire HHA collection.

 I searched “This is the day” in the keyword/phrase search and Handel as the composer, to retrieve the following citation for another collected edition of Handel's works: 

Title:

Wedding anthem.

Composer:

Handel, George Frideric, 1685-1759.

Uniform Title:

This is the day which the Lord has made, B.262.

Collection:

Works., [1965-66]. v. 36 - p. 27-79

Editor:

Chrysander, Friedrich, 1826-1901.

Format:

full score, solo instruments/voices/chorus

Non-standard Clefs:

Uses non-standard clefs

Figured Bass:

figured, not realized

Language:

English;   German

Genre:

Anthem

Instrumentation:

Soloists: soprano, alto (altus), tenor, bass, Ensemble: 2 sopranos, 2 alto (altus), 2 tenors, 2 basses, 2 trumpets, 2 horns, timpani, 2 oboes, 2 bassoons, 2 violins, viola, violoncello, double bass, continuo

Practical Editions:

miniature score KAl no.1334

Master Bibl. No.:

H2364