Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music: Collected Editions

A guide to identifying and locating music works published in collections owned at the SJSU Library

Introduction

How do you find out what collections the library owns?

 For some series, each volume will have a distinct title and its own catalog record. For others, only one record exists in the catalog for the series as a whole with the individual volumes listed only by number. For example, the catalog record for the Hallische Handel-Ausgabe, the critical edition of Handel’s works, lists the volumes owned by the library but not the titles or content.

To find what volume holds the Messiah, you will need to use other reference tools. Fortunately, the library provides you with two online databases that will help you find the score you need: Oxford Music Online—a database that includes the Grove Music Dictionary—and the Index to Printed Music. Both have their advantages and disadvantages but are essential for finding the score on the library’s shelf. Also, even if the library doesn’t own the appropriate volume, you might be able to request a photocopy through Interlibrary Services if you can cite the exact title, volume, and page numbers that you need. For some composers, you might find it more useful to consult the thematic catalog of that person's works. Many of these thematic catalogs are listed at the beginning of the composer's works list in Oxford Music Online. The thematic catalogs owned by the library are located in the 5th floor music stacks at the King Library, or in the reference areas on the 2nd floor. 

Historical editions are shelved on the fifth floor in the Music Collection, mostly in the Library of Congress classifications M2 and M3. Some of these volumes are marked for in-library use only, but you will be allowed to make photocopies of the pages you need.

Connect to Oxford Music Online or the Index to Printed Music