Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Records Management Policies and Procedures

Records management entails consistent systems throughout campus guiding how and when records are created, accessed, stored, and/or discarded. This guide includes advice on working with the University Archives, identifying records and their sources, develo

5.9. Developing an Oral History Project

Oral history projects are a key component in diversifying the historical record. Relying on written materials alone limits whose stories are documented. As such, SJSU Special Collections & Archives collects, preserves, and provides access to select oral history collections. Oral history projects also require time, personnel, equipment, and strategic planning. If you would like guidance on developing an oral history project, please contact the University Archivist, who may be able to provide templates for consent forms, and resources on planning, transcribing, and preserving interviews. Due to time constraints it will be unlikely that the University Archivist will be able to lead the project, except in rare circumstances. Additionally, the existence of an oral history project will not guarantee that the University Archives will be the right home for it. If you have oral history recordings and/or transcripts, the University Archivist can assist in identifying institutions that may be interested in acquiring it.

Due to unique preservation and access concerns, an oral history project within a larger collection being transferred to the University Archives will need to be appraisedindependently of the larger collection.