Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Records Management Policies and Procedures

Records management entails consistent systems throughout campus guiding how and when records are created, accessed, stored, and/or discarded. This guide includes advice on working with the University Archives, identifying records and their sources, develo

5.1 Mission, Collection Scope, Collection Priorities

The University Archives collects, preserves, and provides access to records that document the history of San José State University.

The University Archives are collections in SJSU Special Collections & Archives that contain records and papers related to the history and activities of San José State University and its precursors: the California State Normal School, the State Teachers College at San Jose, San Jose State College, and California State University San Jose. Included are the records of departments, student organizations, and administrative offices; faculty papers; and collections of materials focused on a particular activity, event or topic related to some aspect of SJSU history. Beyond the historical Master’s Theses that are cataloged and considered part of the rare book collections, the papers and publications of students and former students are not currently collected by SJSU Special Collections & Archives, though may in some cases be included in the Institutional Repository. For information on the collecting scope of the Institutional Repository, visit SJSU Scholarworks.

The collections in the University Archives are organized according to an established Record Group Schema that takes into consideration the administrative and educational structure of the SJSU system. The schema was established in 2008 during a massive “Survey and Cataloging Project” that was a two-year grant project funded by the National Historical Publications and Records Commission. The schema was intended to be used beyond the initial two-year project, and has consequently developed and evolved along with the growth of the university collections.

The record groups are broadly organized by university offices and divisions but include several record groups that are outside of this structure, such as those that were created based on format (oral histories) or people or topics (Normal School Principals & Early Presidents). The record groups are subdivided into smaller groups or collections with the Division of Academic Affairs representing a significant portion of the University Archives’ collections.

Record Group Schema

  • Normal School Principals & Early Presidents
  • Office of the SJSU President
  • Office of the SJSU Vice-President
  • Division of Intercollegiate Athletics
  • Administration & Finance Division
  • Division of Academic Affairs
  • Division of Student Affairs
  • Division of University Advancement
  • SJ Normal School & Teachers College Records
  • Oral History Collections & Projects
  • SJSU Affiliated Organizations and Institutes
  • Division of Research and Innovation

Additional record groups may be developed as the University Archives continues to acquire new materials, and the structure of the university continues to grow and change.

In addition to collecting institutional records, the University Archives is prioritizing the identification and acquisition of records that document the following aspects of SJSU history:

  • Academic programs that originated at or are unique to SJSU
  • Experiences and achievements of Black, Indigenous, Latinx, Asian American, Pacific Islander, and Desi students, faculty, staff, and administrators
  • Experiences and achievements of international students
  • Impact of SJSU on the city of San José and the broader Bay Area
  • Experiences of the SJSU community during the COVID-19 pandemic