Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SJSU Special Collections & Archives

Historical Research Topics and Collections

Spartans Speak on COVID-19: An invitation to add your experiences to the historical record

Collage image of people past and present wearing masks, working from home, and stocking up on cleaning products

 

San José State’s University Archives is seeking documentation of your personal experiences of the COVID-19 pandemic. While we will collect and preserve institutional records of this moment, the history will be incomplete without evidence of how this is impacting you as a member of our campus community. Will you entrust your story to us?

 

You can participate in the co-creation of the SJSU COVID-19 Collection by submitting any or all of the following:

 

  • Journal entries
  • Blog posts
  • Social media posts
  • Photographs
  • Audio recordings
  • Video recordings
  • Any other written or recorded statements reflecting your experiences

 

This form will allow you to document and submit materials in a variety of electronic formats. You can submit more than once as events continue to unfold. If the form is still live, we are still accepting submissions. If you prefer to donate physical materials, please fill out the form knowing that we will follow-up with you after the library re-opens. Contributions will become part of SJSU’s University Archives and will be available for access by the public. 

If you are a member of the SJSU community (students, families, administrators, faculty, staff, alumni) we want your experiences to be part of this collection. When people in the near and distant future seek to gain a better understanding of this moment, your unique perspective will add important depth to the story.

If you have any questions or concerns about submitting, please contact University Archivist Carli Lowe at carli.lowe@sjsu.edu.

Please note, the submission form is configured for access through SJSU email addresses only. If you do not have an SJSU email address, but are still a member of the Spartan community, please email Carli for instructions about submitting. The form is also configured to accept files of limited size. If you are submitting a video file, please fill out the form, but email the file directly to Carli.

Read an Account of the Flu Pandemic from the 1919 La Torre Yearbook

 

To read this page in its entirety, visit our digital collections.An excerpt of a page containing a reprint of a student's diary