Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SJSU Special Collections & Archives

Historical Research Topics and Collections

Alfred Alquist Papers

Alquist  

Photo of California Senator Alquist

Alfred Alquist Papers

Alfred E. Alquist (Democrat) served the California State Legislature as an Assemblyman from 1963 to 1966 and as a Senator from 1967 to 1996. Alquist represented Assembly District 24 and Senate Districts 11 and 13. He authored several bills on seismic safety, education, taxation, law enforcement, and employee benefits. The collection documents Alquist's long-term political career from 1963 to 1996. The collection also details Alquist's legislative work and office administration, legislative files, campaign material, correspondence, reports, office administration files, public relations, press files, and subject files.

Rod Diridon Papers

Rod Diridon

Rod Diridon Papers

This collection documents 20 years of Rod Diridon’s public service. Diridon served six terms as the chairperson of both the Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors and the Santa Clara Transit Board. Diridon is best known as the “father” of modern transit service in Santa Clara County. The collection includes correspondence, memoranda, speeches, reports, plans, ordinances, project files, campaign materials, photographs, and plaques.

Don Edwards Collection

Photo of U.S. Congressman, Don Edwards

Don Edwards Collection

Don Edwards Congressional Papers document his thirty-two year tenure (1963-1995) in the United States House of Representatives (Calif.). Elected in 1962 (D), Edwards represented San Jose, Gilroy, and Morgan Hill, and parts of Milpitas and other unincorporated areas of Santa Clara County. During his 32-year career, he represented voters from the 9th District (1963-1975), the 10th District (1975-1993), and the 16th District (1993-1995). The papers include biographical material, speeches, committee files, hearings and reports, press releases, newspaper clippings, photographs, slides, office files, correspondence and memorabilia. The collection consists of five series: Series I: Personal; Series II: Legislative Files; Series III: Public Relations/Press Files; Series IV: Office Files; Series V: Constituent Files.

California Political Collections

 The political papers collections provide a rich array of primary sources on nearly every topic in modern U.S. history. Possible research topics include civil rights, immigration, globalization, feminism, equal rights, environmental history, veteran rights, transportation, and technology. There is also a rich opportunity to trace the legislative bill process and to discover how ordinary citizens interacted with political leaders.

Janet Gray Hayes Papers

Janet Gray Hayes

Photo of San Jose Mayor, Janet Gray Hayes

Janet Gray Hayes Papers

In 1974 Janet Gray Hayes became mayor of San Jose, California and the first female elected to the office of mayor of a large American city. She was overwhelmingly reelected to a second term, and served as mayor until 1982. Prior to her groundbreaking election in 1974, she won a seat on the San Jose City Council and also served as vice mayor. This collection documents her political trajectory from 1974-1982. During her tenure as mayor she focused on urban development issues and smart growth planning, and was very responsive to increased citizen access to the mayor's office. Hayes became an important role model for women in politics, her success in government represented a watershed for politically minded women in the region, and the Santa Clara Valley became know as the "Feminist Capital of the World." This collection consists of administrative files, election materials, personal files, and public relations materials, most of which were amassed while Hayes served as city council member, vice mayor, and mayor of San Jose.

Susan Hammer Papers

Susan Hammer

 Photo San Jose Mayor Susan Hammer

Susan Hammer Papers

This collection documents the two-term administration of Susan Hammer, who served as Mayor of San Jose between the years 1990 and 1998. She is known for her commitment to improving public safety, education, and access to the arts. The collection consists of administrative files, press and publicity, awards, photographs, videotapes, correspondence, and other memorabilia collected primarily during Hammer's mayoralty. Also included are the files of the Protocol Office created during the term of Hammer's predecessor, Tom McEnery. The collection highlights Hammer's involvement in San Jose community and economic development.

Dianne McKenna Papers

Photo of County Board of Supervisors

Dianne McKenna Papers

The Dianne McKenna papers document a portion of her political career as Mayor and City Council Member of Sunnyvale from 1977-1984, and her work on the Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors (SCCBS), serving from 1985-1996. The collection spans 1980-1996, the bulk of which documents her contributions to the SCCBS from 1985-1996, and particularly her work in transportation and child advocacy.