Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SJSU Special Collections & Archives

Historical Research Topics and Collections

John Byrne Collection

John Byrne Collection

Friends of Irish Freedom (FOF), the American Association for the Recognition of the Irish Republic (AARIR), the Ancient Order of Hibernians (AOH), the Irish Press (Dublin, Ireland), the Irish Republican Prisoners and Soldiers Dependents Fund, and the Celtic Cross Association are among the many Irish American organizations that worked to support and fund Ireland's fight for independence. This collection primarily consists of materials and documents from the AARIR, but it also contains documents from other Irish American organizations that relate to the administrative and fund raising activities in which Irish Americans engaged. Additionally, there are numerous Irish American newspapers, clippings, and pamphlets which document the struggle for an Irish Republic.

Chinese American Women's Club

Image of Chinese Cookbook

Chinese American Women's Club Records

The Chinese American Women's Club of Santa Clara County Records (1962-1999) documents the activities of a civic club whose mission is to "preserve Chinese culture and traditions and serve [the] community where needed." The collection materials include correspondence, meeting minutes, personal notes, awards and plaques, newsletters, news clippings, photographs, scrapbooks, printed matter, event planning materials and donation records.

Eta Sigma Lambda Fraternity Records

Certificate of Appreciation

Eta Sigma Lambda Fraternity Records

Records in this collection document the structure, finances, history, culture, and charitable contributions of the Alpha Phi Alpha alumni chapter Eta Sigma Lambda, which is based in San José, California. Materials of this collection were collected and donated by Eta Sigma Lambda. Notable materials include documents, pamphlets, and photographs that record the chapter's involvement with young African American men through programs like Project Alpha.

League of Women Voters Records

LWV History Brochure

League of Women Voters, San Jose/Santa Clara Chapter Records

The League of Women Voters, San Jose/Santa Clara Chapter Records, 1945-2006 consist of administrative records, political studies and action materials, which include subject specific legislation, government records, voter and election data and reports, as well as convention and meeting records from other chapters and the National organization. The records in this collection date from 1945-2002, with the bulk dating from 1969-1990.

National Organization of Women Records

NOW Certificate of Dedication of Women's Rights

National Organization of Women/South Bay Chapter

NOW is the largest organization of feminist activists in the United States. The South Bay Chapter was founded in 1970, followed by the San José Chapter in 1972. The San José Chapter absorbed the South Bay chapter in 1978, creating the San José/South Bay Chapter which operated until 2006. The collection consists of administrative files, correspondence, publicity, outreach, publications, reports and photographs. It is arranged into two series: Administrative Files, 1971-2007, and Outreach and Publicity, 1971-2005.

Florene Poyadue Papers

Photo of Florene Poyadue and her son

 Florene Poyadue Papers

Shortly after her fourth child was diagnosed with Down's syndrome, Florene Stewart Poyadue became involved with Parents Helping Parents (PHP), a Santa Clara Valley based local support network for parents of disabled children. Under her direction, Poyadue transformed PHP from a small local support group to a prototype for parent resource networks. Items in this collection document Poyadue's unwavering commitment to PHP, and highlight how her vision and work impacted the lives of countless families and child health resource providers. Under Poyadue's leadership, PHP became a United Way agency in 1985, and was recognized by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services in 1990 as the model for parent-to-parent resource centers across the nation.

SCCOSH/SVTC Collections

The Santa Clara Center for Occupational Health (SCCOSH) and Silicon Valley Toxics Coalition (SVTC) Collections, 1978-2002 (bulk 1982-1995), document the history of SCCOSH and SVTC. The Santa Clara Center for Occupational Health (SCCOSH) grew from the efforts of three women’s health and labor rights organizers—Robin Baker, Amanda Hawes, and Pat Lamborn—who had come to focus on the Valley’s largely unrepresented working-class minorities in the late 1970s. The three met sometime in 1977 at the Pacific Studies Center in Mountain View, where a small group had been meeting intermittently to discuss occupational health. Not long after, Baker, Hawes, and Lamborn together applied for and received a workers training grant from the U.S. Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA), which they used to fund the Project on Health and Safety in Electronics (PHASE, 1978-1980). The Silicon Valley Toxic Coalition (SVTC) developed from a SCCOSH project into a wide-ranging, independent nonprofit organization. The SVTC is a San Jose, California-based research and advocacy group that promotes safe environmental practices in the high tech industry.

Finding aid: http://www.oac.cdlib.org/findaid/ark:/13030/kt2b69r7hf/​

South Asian Collection

South Asian

Conference Flier on South Asian Perspectives

The South Asian Collection documents non-resident South Asian political and cultural organizations in North America and abroad, particularly in the San Francisco Bay Area from 1971-2004. The collection consists of pamphlets, press releases, and open letters that related to the cultural and political activities of several South Asian organizations. The collection also contains documents from non-South Asian activist organizations operating in the Bay Area during this period, including underground radical groups and University of California at Santa Cruz student organizations.

YWCA

YWCA

Photo of YWCA Women, c. 1900

The Young Women's Christian Association of Silicon Valley (YWCA) was established in 1905 to provide fellowship, mutual aid, and spiritual and professional guidance to young working women. The YWCA pioneered services to poor and working women in the valley, valley and continues to offer an array of educational resources and programs designed to improve the community. The records included in this collection, range from 1905 to 2005 and include budgets, clippings, correspondence, financial statements, minutes, memoranda, photographs, printed material, registries, reports, scrapbooks, slides, and videos.