Your place for finding books, articles, and more from San Jose State University, California State University system, and worldwide.
Your Tower ID is your new SJSU library card. There is no limit on the number of items SJSU borrowers can check out. Loan periods are:
Undergraduate students: 16 weeks from date of checkout, no renewals
Graduate students: 16 weeks from date of checkout, 5 renewals
Faculty & Staff: 1 year from date of checkout, 10 renewals
San Jose Public Library patrons: 3 weeks from date of checkout, 3 renewals
SJSU students, faculty, and staff have access to over 29 million books across the entire CSU, right from within OneSearch. You can request books from any of the other 22 California State University libraries and have them delivered to the SJSU Library within 2-5 days. Requests will be made directly in the item record in OneSearch, but you must be logged in to your account see this option. Only SJSU patrons are eligible to borrow from CSU Collections. Loan periods are as follows:
CSU books: 60 days, no renewals
CSU media: 30 days, no renewals
If you have requested items from either the SJSU Library or CSU collection, you will receive an e-mail when they are available to be picked up. You can pick items up from the SJSU Services Desk on the ground floor.
There will be separate self-check machines for SJPL and SJSU materials at King Library.
Items borrowed from either the SJSU Library or through CSU+/Interlibrary Loan must be returned to the King Library.
The borrower is responsible for loss or damage charges resulting from improper returns.
Items returned after the Library has closed are considered returned on the next open day.
Outside book drops are open after closing at all Library locations.
SJSU Course Reserves and CSU+/Interlibrary Loan items must be returned to the King Library Academic Reserves Desk, not to the outside book drops. For more information about borrowing Course Reserves items, see Course Reserves.
There are no daily fines for SJSU general materials, but they will be considered lost at 14 days overdue and you will be billed the replacement cost of $110 per item.
Late fees for Course Reserves:
Hourly checkouts: $1 per hour, $20 maximum fine
Daily checkouts: $5 per day, $20 maximum fine
Fines must be paid online; no cash or checks will be accepted.
There are no daily fines for materials borrowed from another CSU, but they will be considered lost at 14 days overdue and you will be billed the replacement cost of $90 per item. Fines must be paid online; no cash or checks will be accepted.