SJSU Research Guides: Humanities: Articles and Databases

Most Useful

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary full text, peer reviewed academic journals that support scholarly research in key areas of academic study.
academic search premier
Arts & Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Explore the areas of art and design, Archaeology, anthropology and classical studies, architecture, urban planning, philosophy, geography and religion, modern languages and literatures, music, theatre, film and cultural studies. and more. Titles include both scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies
Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window
Covers the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. Includes peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents. The subscription also includes access to the ebooks Diversity & Ethnic Studies collection covering diversity, equity and inclusion.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Encompasses all key fields of the humanities, covering topics including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, religion and much, much more. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and much more
JSTOR Journals and Books This link opens in a new window
The journals archive consists of older (at least 2-5 years) issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects including the arts, humanities, and social sciences. The eBook collections are DRM-free and allow for unlimited concurrent use and unlimited chapter downloads and printing.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers. Also see MLA Directory of Periodicals
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly articles in literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, social science, mathematics.

Also Useful

ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new window
The ABI/INFORM Collection is comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as The Economist and Sloan Management Review, country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources like the Wall Street Journal. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world. Also provides valuable historical perspective, with journals and other material dating back to the early 1900s.
Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
Alternative and independent media coverage. Independent voices and regional, rural, and metropolitan perspectives on local, national, and international issues from some of the most respected and cited grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals in the U.S. Approximately 260+ publications.
Historical Abstracts with Fulltext This link opens in a new window
This database supports upper-division and graduate research on World History, Military History, Women's History, History of Education and many other related topics. It also provides indexing of historical articles from more than 3,100 journals in over 40 languages dating back to 1955. Also provides access to the full text of more than 380 journals and 140 books.