SJSU Research Guides: Resources for SJSU Librarians: Diversity, Equity, &amp; Inclusivity

DEI

SJSU's Office of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Located in the Administration Building, Room 104. The Office of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (ODEI) seeks to build individual, organizational, and institutional capacity to enact systemic change on issues of equity and social inequality. It offers resources on DEI, anti-racism, reports on bias and discrimination, as well as SJSU's Diversity Action Plan.

Dr. Kristin Nicole Dukes, chief diversity officer, leads the office, serving as a liaison to community partners and constituents on an array of diversity initiatives. She reports directly to President Cynthia Teniente-Matson and serves on the president's cabinet.

Accessible Education Center

Located in the Administration Building, Room 110. The Accessible Education Center provides students and employees with accommodations and services.

Black Leadership and Opportunity Center

Located in the Student Union, First Level, Room 1360. In addition to study spaces and printing, the center offers a Peer Mentoring program called Black Alliance of Mentorship (BAM), peer tutoring through Peer Connections, and various drop-in services such as career advice and counseling.

Center for Faculty Development

Located in the Instructional Resource Center (IRC), Room 213. The Center for Faculty Development has collections of resources dedicated to Creating Inclusive Classrooms, Anti-Racist Pedagogy, Gender Inclusive Pedagogy, and Accessible Education. The collections focus on how to develop and enhance your curriculum and teaching practices to improve the learning experiences of all students.

Chicanx/Latinx Student Success Center (CLSSC, or Centro)

Located in the Student Union, First Level, Room 1340. In addition to study space, the CLSSC offers Peer Mentoring, Faculty Fellows, academic advising, and other drop-in services such as counseling and career advising.

The Gender Equity Center (GenEC)

Located in the Student Union, First Level, Room 1650. The GenEC advocates for social justice, respect, and safety for all members of the SJSU community, and works towards that goal by educating on issues related to gender, gender identity, and perceived gender/gender identity through an intersectional lens. The center hosts several programs and outreach activities throughout the year, and has a video library and lending library containing classic and contemporary feminist and gender studies titles. They have meeting and social spaces available, as well as a lactation room, and free condoms, pads, and tampons.

MOSAIC Cross Cultural Center

Located in the Student Union, First Level, Room 1700. The MOSAIC Cross Cultural Center seeks to enhance social justice education at SJSU. They can help faculty, staff, and students create and host workshops on subjects such as identity development, emotional wellness, and conscious and unconscious bias. They also offer co-sponsorship opportunities and scholarships.

The Pride Center

Located in the Student Union, in the Main Section on the First Level. The Pride Center supports the LGBTQ+ (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Intersex, Queer, Questioning, Asexual, Nonbinary, etc.) students of SJSU through dynamic programming and education outreach. They have a library with an extensive collection of books concerning LGBTQ+ issues, host programs year round, and house space for meetings, studying, and hanging out.

UndocuSpartan Student Resource Center

Located in Clark Hall 100 F/G. The UndocuSparten Student Resource Center offers financial aid resources and legal support for undocumented students. They additionally provide various trainings and workshops throughout the year.

Additional Campus Organizations:

For Faculty and Staff:

For Students:

Associated Students
Student Counseling Services
Student Health Center
Student Involvement - includes student organizations, SJSU Greek chapters, and other student groups

Additional Resources:

All Gender Restroom Map: where to find gender neutral bathrooms on campus
CSU Non-discrimination Policies and Complaint Procedures

Become familiar with SJSU's diverse community

Belong@SJSU Findings: The belong@SJSU assessment of the SJSU campus climate for inclusion process was led by the Campus Climate and Belonging Committee (CCBC) in collaboration with a highly respected consulting firm, Rankin & Associates.
University Dashboards: Data provided by SJSU's Institutional Research
CSU Student Success dashboards: Offers dashboards on Graduation Initiative 2025, Faculty dashboard, CSU by the Numbers, and Equity Gaps dashboard

Like many modern structures in the USA, SJSU exists on land stolen from native populations. SJSU specifically exists on land that is part of the present day Muwekma Ohlane Tribe. Land acknowledgements functions as a step towards correcting the practices that erase indigenous people's history and presence, and celebrate Indigenous communities.

The practice of Land Acknowledgement is to open an event, gathering, or meeting by acknowledging the traditional indigenous inhabitants of that land. For an example of what a Land Acknowledgement for an SJSU event would look like, see the example below.

For more information on what a Land Acknowledgement is, more information on the Muwekma Ohlone Tribe (as well as pronunciation guides), and additional examples of an SJSU Land Acknowledgement, visit: SJSU Land Acknowledgement.

Example Land Acknowledgement:

"The San José State University community recognizes that the present-day Muwekma Ohlone Tribe, with an enrolled Bureau of Indian Affairs documented membership of over 550, is comprised of all of the known surviving American Indian lineages aboriginal to the San Francisco Bay region who trace their ancestry through the Missions Santa Clara, San José, and Dolores, during the advent of the Hispano-European empire into Alta California; and who are the successors and living members of the sovereign, historic, previously Federally Recognized Verona Band of Alameda County.

Furthermore, the San José State University community recognizes that the university is established within the Thámien Ohlone-speaking tribal ethnohistoric territory, which based upon the unratified federal treaties of 1851-1852, includes the unceded ancestral lands of the Muwekma Ohlone Tribe of the San Francisco Bay Area. Some of the enrolled Muwekma lineages are descended from direct ancestors from the Thámien Ohlone tribal territory whose ancestors had affiliation with Mission Santa Clara.

The San José State University community also recognizes the importance of this land to the indigenous Muwekma Ohlone people of this region, and consistent with our principles of community and diversity strives to be good stewards on behalf of the Muwekma Ohlone Tribe whose land we occupy."

Beyond the Binary

Ministry of Children and Youth Services - LGBT2SQ

Gender Identity	A person's internal sense of their own gender.
Gender Expression	The way in which a person expresses their gender identity, typically through their appearance, dress, and behavior.
Gender Non-Conforming	A person whose appearance does not conform to traditional masculinity or femininity.

Transgender	A person whose sense of personal identity and gender does not correspond with their sex assigned at birth.
Cisgender	A person whose biological sex and gender identity correspond with their sex assigned at birth.
Nonbinary	A gender identity and experience that embraces a full universe of expressions and ways of being that resonate for an individual.
Sex Assigned at Birth	The sex someone is labeled with at birth, usually based on the appearance of their genitals.

Genderqueer	A person whose gender identity and/or gender expression falls outside of the dominant societal norm for their assigned sex, is beyond genders, or is some combination of them.
Transgender Man	A term for someone who identifies as a man who was assigned female at birth.
Transgender Woman	A term for someone who identifies as a woman who was assigned male at birth.

Adopted from SJSU's Center for Faculty Development

SJSU's Guide to Using Pronouns: includes a listing of common pronouns and how to use them, why they're important, what not to do, as well as tips and resources for faculty.

Practicing Gender Inclusivity Gender Inclusivity in Interactions

Gender inclusivity matters regardless of context. Gender inclusivity applies to all people.

Do not assume. Simply ask "What are your pronouns?"
Unless you have received permission, invite people to introduce themselves. If you will be providing the introduction, ask the person how they wish to be introduced.
Review all forms and documents (internal & public facing) for gender binary language, such as he/she.
Check your instructional materials for language that reinscribes the gender binary.
Add pronouns to your email signatures. E.g. they/them/theirs; she/her/s; he/him/his.
Address groups using words such as friends, team, folks, everyone, colleagues.
When getting pronouns wrong, apologize. Correct yourself by repeating what your said with the right pronoun. Move on-continue the conversation where you left off.
Engage in conversations and programming offered by the gender, equity, and pride centers.

Adopted from SJSU's Center for Faculty Development, for more info see Gender Inclusive Pedagogy

For more information and advice on using pronouns, see Using Pronouns

Additional Resources

How to add your pronouns in Zoom

How to add your pronouns in Canvas

CSU Nondiscrimination Policy and Complaint Procedures

Concerning Behavior Referral Form: The Behavioral Intervention Team (BIT) provides guidance, care, and assistance to students and employees who are experiencing crisis, displaying odd or unusual behaviors, or engaging in other behaviors that may be perceived as being harmful (either to the student or employee individually, or to others)

Crime Reporting: How to report crimes on campus to the University Police Department

Employee Discrimination & Harassment Complaints: employees have equal opportunity, affirmative action, and non-discrimination rights bases in law. This site explains the relevant policies and the "Employee Discrimination and Harassment Complaint" form.

Office for Equal Opportunity: Part of University Personnel. Facilitates the university's diversity efforts, investigates and resolves complaints of discrimination and harassment from students and employees, provides training and consultation, and ensures adherence to compliance requirements.

Reporting Hate Crimes and Hate Incidents: definition and relevant policies for hate crime and hate incidents as well as information on how to report them.

Student Discrimination and Harassment Complaints: Explanation of relevant California State University policies and the reporting process for students to file a discrimination or harassment complaint.

University Ombudsperson: Advocate for procedural fairness who supports the integrity of campus policies and procedures. The ombudsperson provides a neutral, confidential, and informal place to discuss a concern with the assurance that no action will be taken, without consent.