Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources for SJSU Librarians

Finding SJSU Library Materials

SJSU's catalog system is OneSearch, and it is a system shared among the CSU libraries.  For an overview on how to use OneSearch, see the OneSearch LibGuide and the videos OneSearch: Using the Catalog & Searching for Articles: OneSearch and Google Scholar

OneSearch searches MOST of the library's databases, but not all, and not every database entirely. So it's worth becoming familiar with the databases specific to your liaison area, and if you'll do a fair bit of reference, those of other areas. The easiest ways to do this are:


If SJSU doesn't have what you or a student is looking for, we have two free ordering services that can be used: CSU+ and Interlibrary Loan.

  • CSU+ can be used to request physical materials from any of the other CSU libraries. It is usually your fastest option for physical items like books. Loan periods average about 60 days
  • Interlibrary Loan, or ILLiad, can be used for everything else, but especially articles and book chapters. Digital requests can be filled as quickly as next day, physical requests can take up to a couple weeks to come in. Loan periods average about 3 weeks.

Both services's materials can be picked up from the first floor service desk once delivered. They should be returned here as well.

For more information on how to request CSU+ and ILLiad requests, see the video Requesting Materials: InterLibrary Loan & CSU+


Public patrons can check out SJSU books and access some online resources by signing up for a OneSearch account. More information about public OneSearch accounts can be found here and here

Many digital resources (like databases) can be accessed by being physically in the library on one of the library's wifi networks (or on a library computer), and do not require a OneSearch account.

Emeritus Faculty can also check out materials, just like regular faculty. More info on Emeritus Faculty's library privileges can be found here


Additional Resources:

SJSU library subscribes to hundreds of databases. You can see a (mostly) comprehensive list here.

  • NOTE: some databases need additional credentials to access, a listing of additional passwords can be found here. You can also get to this page by clicking the "Library Passwords" link located on the right side of the "Articles & Databases" page.

For an overview on how to use the databases, see the video Searching for Articles: Research Databases


Regarding off campus access to databases:

  • Due to how our database contracts are worded, only emeritus faculty and current SJSU students, staff, and faculty can access the databases off campus.
    • Graduated students retain access for up to 6 months after they graduate
      • Extensions might be available by contacting the head of access services
  • A listing of free databases anyone can access can be found here: https://libguides.sjsu.edu/alumni
  • For public patrons to access our databases, they need to be in the library and connected to the library's internet. More information about that can be found here
    • NOTE: some databases can ONLY be accessed by SJSU students, faculty, and staff - like Kanopy or Ebook Central. These databases will usually state something like "The platform is integrated with your SJSUOne account"
  • Visiting Scholars can get access to databases by filling out this form, they do not need to be in the library or on campus

Updates to databases the library subscribes to is sent out to the Lib-Tech email list. Confirm with your supervisor you are added to this email group.

Helpful databases to be aware of: 

  • Academic Search Complete - good general topic database, part of EBSCO databases, has an easy and intuitive interface that's good for new to database users
  • CQ Researcher - a collection of neutral, in-depth articles on current event and controversial issues written by professional journalists. A good place to get familiar with a topic, and unlike Wikipedia, is considered a scholarly source.
  • ProQuest NewsStand - full collection of all of ProQuests newspaper databases, including national, international, current and historical newspapers. Most popular newspapers are represented here.

Many of SJSU's Special Collections' physical materials can be searched for in OneSearch. To find them, limit search results to "Available in SJSU Library" and/or select the special collection directly from the "Locations" dropdown menu.

The King Library Digital Collections houses several digital collections for the Beethoven Center, SJSU Special Collections & Archives, and Steinbeck Center.

AAACNA's digital collections can be found here

SJSU recent theses and graduate research can be found on SJSU ScholarWorks. As well as faculty papers and a digital version of the SJSU student newspaper, the Spartan Daily 


For more detailed guides on how to search each special collections' materials, see:

Remember - The Martin Luther King Jr., Library is a joint library. If a resource isn't available through SJSU's resources, check San Jose Public Library's collection

A listing of their electronic resources, such as magazines, newspapers, job hunting and legal help can be found here

SJPL also has an archive and history room, The California Room. If you are looking for a local or state document/book that isn't part of the SJSU Special Collections & Archives' or Sourisseau Academy's collections, there's a chance the California Room may have it.