The Martin Luther King Jr., Library is large - 9 floors - and is shared with the San Jose Public Library (SJPL). This page is a listing of the library's services and spaces you and the SJSU students will most likely use.
If you have the time, it is recommended to take a self-tour of the library and its unique art installations: https://www.sjlibrary.org/recolecciones-king-library-public-art-collections
To book a room for a meeting or class, use the Meeting Room Manager (MRM). Be aware, this page is shared with the San Jose Public Library, as the rooms are available for both libraries to use.
For help on how to book a room, check out the Booking a Classroom in LibCal MRM Guide
SJSU Service Desk: students and staff can check materials out, pick up holds (including CSU+ and Interlibrary Loans), and get course reserves. CSU+ and Interlibrary Loan materials should be returned here as well.
The main printing station is on this floor. More about the library's printers can be found here: https://library.sjsu.edu/print-copy-scan/print-copy-scan
The SJPL Service Desk is located to the right of the SJSU Service Desk.
Library Security desks are located at each entrance. Though more often than not, the security officers are standing in the middle of the walkway, by the escalators and service desks.
Meeting Rooms: the 2nd floor is home to several meeting rooms and computer instruction classrooms. The computer instruction classrooms are commonly used for library instruction sessions, and contain a projector, and a classroom set of laptops. To reserve a room, go to https://booking.sjlibrary.org/reserve/mrm
Adaptive Technology Center: part of the Accessible Education Center, provides access to ADA workstations to Accessible Education Center registered SJSU users. Has Closed Circut TV (CCTV), Refreshable Brailler, Reading Machine, and PCs with adapted hardware and software.
SJSU Writing Center: students can meet one-on-one with a writing tutor after scheduling an appointment online. Writing tutors can help with writing, formatting, or editing papers. The Writing Center also holds various free programs and workshops throughout the year, that cover topics such as how to avoid plagiarism, finding credible sources, and writing professional emails.
HOURS: vary by semester, for current hours check their website
Tutoring: tutoring is available for students through Peer Connections. The list of offered tutored courses along with instructions on how to make an appointment are available on the Peer Connections website.
Home to the SJPL reference desk.
SPJL Works: a business center that collaborates with local business leaders to provide help and resources to employment seekers, small business owners, and entrepreneurs. Services include resume assistance, mock interviews, job application assistance, career exploration/transition advice, and market research.
HOURS: Monday - Thursday 9am - 8pm, Friday & Saturday 9am - 6pm, and Sunday 1pm - 6pm
Home to the SJSU Reference Desk. If you are the first or last person on the reference desk, the key to the desk can be fount/returned to the Administration secretary desk, and loose items on the desk should be stored in the desk drawer.
Administration: several meeting rooms available that you can reserve for both one on one meetings with students, or workplace meetings. To reserve a meeting room go to https://booking.sjlibrary.org/reserve/mrm
Student Computing Services (SCS): faculty, staff, and students can check out a variety of technical equipment, including laptops, tablets, chargers, and projectors. Check out periods vary from a week to semester-long, and you’ll need your Tower ID card to check out or return any equipment.
The Technology Training Center (TTC): Faculty and staff can schedule classroom workshops, and students can schedule one on one, or group training for SPSS, Adobe Suite, Microsoft Office, and more. TTC also holds various free workshops throughout the year that cover topics such as SPSS, intro to iMovie, and Making Posters Using Adobe Illustrator.
HOURS: Monday - Friday 8am - 4pm
KLEVR Lab: a Virtual Reality lab, fitted with two high-end VR gaming stations and a Playstation 4 Slim. Additional VR equipment is available for checkout, including Occulus Rift VR, HTC Vive VR, and Playstation 4 VR. Room key and equipment can be checked out from SCS.
Sound Studio: a soundproof room, equipped with almost everything you’ll need to record. The studio features two mounted and adjustable microphones, webcam, mixers, speakers, MIDI keyboards, and a duel monitor computer running various sound recording and mixing software. Room must be reserved online, check out the key and headphones from SCS.
The 5th Floor is where the library's special collections live. There are five SJSU special collections, and one SJPL. Collection materials are non circulating, with the exception of AAACNA's collections.
Africana, Asian American, Chicano, and Native American Study Center (AAACNA): home to the Africana, Asian American, Chicano, and Native American Studies Collections, as well as the Comparative Ethnic Studies and Reference collections. These collection materials are available for check out, with exception of the reference collection which must be used in the library. The center hosts study spaces, various multicultural exhibits and outreach programs year round, and functions as both a resource center and community center.
HOURS: open during library open hours
Beethoven Center: both a library and museum, the center contains the largest collection of Beethoven materials outside of Europe, and is the headquarters for the American Beethoven Society. The collection includes manuscripts, historical keyboards (some of which can be played by visitors), scores, books, objects, prints, and realia such as a lock of Beethoven’s Hair. The center hosts concerts, lectures and other events throughout the year, and prints a biannual Beethoven Newsletter and Beethoven Journal.
HOURS: Tuesday - Thursday 11am - 6pm, Friday 11am - 5pm, and Saturday 1pm - 5pm
SJSU Special Collections & Archives: home to the history of SJSU. Houses rare books, manuscripts, institutional records, and other primary source materials related to the teaching and research needs of SJSU students, faculty, and staff. Their collection mainly focuses on local, regional, and California history, with a specific focus on history, politics, literature, and art.
HOURS: Monday - Wednesday 12pm - 5pm, Thursday - Friday open by appointment
Sourisseau Academy: specializes in local history of Santa Clara County and the central coast region of California. They have an extensive photographic collection, as well as collections of directories, newspapers, books, diaries, maps and other local records documenting the history of the San Jose and Santa Clara area. Located in the same room as SJSU Special Collections & Archives.
HOURS: open by appointment. To make an appointment, email research@sourisseauacademy.org, or call 408-808-2064.
Steinbeck Center: the largest Steinbeck archive in the world. Their collection includes manuscripts, original letters, first editions, memorabilia, and photographs of the late author. The center also offers a free curriculum for teachers, fellowship for emerging writers, and twice yearly publishes the only journal dedicated to John Steinbeck, the Steinbeck Review.
HOURS: Monday - Friday 1pm - 5pm
SJPL's California Room: specializes in California history, with a focus on the history of San Jose and Santa Clara Valley. Collection includes newspaper clippings, maps, scrapbooks, yearbooks, photographs, and government documents, such as building permits and city directories.
HOURS: Monday 1pm - 6pm, Tuesday - Friday 11am - 6pm, Saturday 1pm - 6pm
Grad Lab: a graduate student only study and work space. It has computers, desks, and a 55” display screen available for use, as well as lockers available for semester-long check out. To access the Grad Lab, students must show their Tower Card to the First Floor Service Desk to get the door code.
Materials Library: a collection of 500 material samples. Anyone can touch and interact with the various materials while learning more about them.
HOURS: Monday - Friday 9am - 5pm
3D Printers: Located next to the Materials Library, the three 3D printers are free to use, but have a limit of one print per month per person, and prints must finish within 6 hours. To schedule a print, fill out the form located at libguides.sjsu.edu/3d.
HOURS: see website for open hours
Prototyping Lab: Located next to the Materials Library, the Prototyping Lab has work stations, power tools, and tool kits available to use. Use of larger machines, like the laser cutter, vinyl cutter, and heat press require training. To schedule a training time, fill out the google form located at libguides.sjsu.edu/prototyping.
HOURS: see website for open hours
Presentation Practice Room: has a camera, mic, display tv, and green screen for easy recording and review. The room can be reserved for 2 hours at a time, and you can pick up the keys from the Student Computing Services on the 4th floor. To reserve the room, visit library.sjsu.edu/student-computing-services/presentation-practice-room
HOURS: Monday - Thursday 8am - 8pm, Friday 8am - 5pm, Saturday 9am - 5pm, and Sunday 1pm - 8pm