SJSU Research Guides: Affordable Learning Solutions: Open Educational Resources by College: World Languages &amp; Literatures

Resources for Multiple Languages

MERLOT World Languages
An educational resource for teaching and learning languages. Free materials for for many different languages.
BBC Languages
Lessons, phrases, vocabulary, tests, and links to news sources in 40 languages. Site is no longer updated, but most resources are still very useful.
LangMedia
A collection of target language videos done by international students from the Five Colleges of Massachusetts in their home countries. Includes: Arabic, French, German, Spanish, Japanese, Greek, Italian, and Portuguese.
Lingu@net Worldwide
Comprehensive resource for a wide range of languages. Search by language, proficiency level, and source language. Each language has a large number of resources.
GLOSS
Global Language Online Support System from the Defense Language Institute in Monterey, CA.
more...less...
Lessons are developed for independent learners to provide them with the learning/teaching tools for improving their foreign language skills. Reading and listening lessons are based on authentic materials (articles, TV reports, radio broadcasts, etc.) and consist of 4 to 6 activities. Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Greek, Gulf-Arabic, Hebrew, Japanese, Portuguese, and Spanish.
Center for Open Educational Resources and Language Learning
U. of Texas at Austin site with links to language learning resources for Chinese, Arabic, Portuguese, Spanish.
Memrise
Uses images and audio to help memorize vocabulary. Interactive site that saves individual progress.
Mis Cositas
Resources for Spanish, French, Chinese, and Italian. Includes: Videos, thematic curriculum units complete lesson plans, student worksheets and resources, downloadable materials collections with activities, manipulatives and mini-posters over 40 virtual illustrated picturebooks organized thematically, as well as a list of vetted links.
MIT Open Courseware
MIT's Global Studies and Languages department offers an extensive collection of online courses. Course format includes, lecture videos, interactive concept quizzes (solution key), problem sets, terms and definitions, suggested topics and links, and exams (with solution key).
The SMaLL Portal
Language learning portal. Has free resources for learning many different languages. Sorted by "Popular", "Most recent", and tags.
Mango Languages
A San Jose Public Library card is required to use.
more...less...
Available from the San Jose Public Library, this database provides language instruction in Arabic; Chinese; Dari; French; German; Greek; Hebrew; Hindi; Irish; Italian; Japanese; Korean; Persian; Portuguese; Pushto; Russian; Spanish; Tagalog; Thai; Turkish; Urdu; and Vietnamese.