SJSU Research Guides: Affordable Learning Solutions: Open Educational Resources by College: Music

Open Courseware

MIT Open Courseware
MIT Open Courseware offers an extensive series of online courses. Course format generally includes lecture videos, interactive concept quizzes (solution key), problem sets, terms and definitions, suggested topics and links, and exams (with solution key).

Databases

Oxford Music Online
Logon to the library and search for the source to choose to view biographies or subject entries only. Advanced search options provide powerful tools for content navigation, including biography searching, bibliography searching, and the ability to easily search within longer, multi-section articles.
Music & Dance databases
List of Articles and Databases using your logon to the SJSU library
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
This comprehensive music bibliography features citations, abstracts and subject indexing. It provides broad yet detailed coverage, and facilitates both focused research and browsing for readers of all levels.
Project Muse
Good source of music ebooks.

Music Performace

Videos of performance: http://vimeo.com/channels/classical

Open Textbooks-Download PDF

Harmony Explained: Progress Towards A Scientific Theory of Music
by Daniel Shawcross Wilkerson
more...less...
Description:
How does music, in particular harmony, actually work, presented as a real, scientific theory of music? In particular we derive from first principles of Physics and Computation the following three fundamental phenomena of music: the Major Scale, the Standard Chord Dictionary, and the difference in feeling between the Major and Minor Triads.
The Physical Basis Of Music
by E. T. Jaynes
Publisher: Washington University 1996
more...less...
Description:
The main purpose of this book is to explain certain physical considerations useful not only to a beginner learning how to play a musical instrument, but also to an accomplished musician trying to gain full technical mastery of an instrument. Some conscious understanding of the facts of physics and physiology, while obviously not necessary, can speed up the learning process for a beginner and may help the good performer to acquire a level of technical skill, accuracy, and endurance unlikely ever to be attained otherwise.
Dance Drummer
Interactive music by drums
more...less...
African Music - Traditional West African Drumming - Percussion Lessons - Instructional Movies, Texts, and Manuscripts - Drum Set Orchestrations - Interactive African Instrument Museum - Online Music Education - Anlo-Ewe History, Ethnology, Ethnomusicology

Scores — Free Access

IMSLP: Petrucci Music Library
Sharing the world’s public domain music. The contents include searchable scores and recordings.
Mutopia project free scores
free to download, print out, perform and distribute.
1770 pieces of music are now available. search by composer or instrument.
Sheet music Consortium
The Sheet Music Consortium provides tools and services that promote access to and use of online sheet music collections by scholars, students, and the general public. It is fully searchable.
Harvard: Online Resources
including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, music theory, composition, and performance practice with links to archival collections, online scores and sound recordings and more.
RISM – Répertoire International des Sources Musicales
These primary sources are manuscripts or printed music, writings on music theory, and libretti. They are housed in libraries, archives, monasteries, schools and private collections.
American Memory-Library of Congress
List of scores available online

Links to Music & Scores

Way Back Machine: archives
Seach for Composers or Musical Scores
Librrary of Congress: Digital Collection
Open Library

UCSB Cylinder Audio Archive This link opens in a new window
The UCSB Library, with funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services, the Grammy Foundation, and donors, has created a digital collection of more than 10,000 cylinder recordings held by the Department of Special Collections. This searchable database features all types of recordings made from the late 1800s to early 1900s, including popular songs, vaudeville acts, classical and operatic music, comedic monologues, ethnic and foreign recordings, speeches and readings.

Introduction to Open Library

Start the automatic presentation with the right arrow nest to the sound button. To restart from the beginning, using the right arrow; click your mouse to navigate to next or start from the beginning. You can also enlarge the screen to full size.

Affordable Learning Solutions: Open Educational Resources by College

Ebooks in the Library

Music Related Books