Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SJSU Alumni Access to Library Scholarly Resources

Business Government Resources

  • Bureau of Economic Analysis (U.S.)
    The B.E.A. reports business and income data at the national, state, county, and metro levels. In the international arena, it reports on foreign direct investment and the U.S. balance of payments.

 

  • Bureau of Labor Statistics
    From the federal government, this site includes the Occupational Outlook Handbook, the Consumer Price Index, and Real Earnings reports, as well as economic statistics for the nation and for states.

 

  • CIA World Factbook
    The CIA annual contains economic, social, and political profiles of countries around the globe. Included are maps and cultural information for international business.

 

  • Economic Indicators
    The Council of Economic Advisors here provides information on prices, wages, production, business activity, purchasing power, credit, money and Federal finance.

 

  • Export.gov
    The U.S. Government's export portal provides export basics, answers to tariff and logistic questions, trade data and analysis, and market research. The Trade Information Center has merged with Export.gov

 

  • Federal Trade Commission
    The FTC is a regulatory body that investigates consumer complaints, misleading advertising or marketing, privacy breaches, and anti-competitive business practices. The FTC case decisions are found here.

 

  • International Trade Administration  
    Developed and maintained by the U.S. International Trade Administration, this site includes information on trade and industry statistics, market data, exporting, importing, and Big Emerging Markets (BEMs). ITA helps U.S. businesses participate in the global marketplace.

 

 

 

  • Online Women's Business Center
    This U.S. S.B.A. site offers practical advice on starting & running a successful business and contact information for local women's business centers and networks.

 

  • Securities and Exchange Commission
    The SEC requires public corporations to disclose meaningful financial information and enforces securities regulations. Search for company filings here using their EDGAR database.

 

 

 

  • Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
    The single best handbook for data on American production, prices, population, resources, trade, technology, income, spending and saving.

 

  • Trade Information Center
    A trade organization master-site from the U.S. Department of Commerce covering Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America, and other regions. Follow the "Country and Regional Market Information" link to get a listing of regions. Other federal trade & tariff information is also available, as well as information on local etiquette and customs.

 

  • US Department of Commerce
    Searchable site includes agencies such as Census, NOAA, International Trade Administration, Patent & Trademark Office and the Bureau of Economic Analysis.