SJSU Research Guides: Public Administration: Articles & Databases

Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed/Refereed Journals

Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full text for over 480 journals, indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,100 titles, full text for 330 reference books and monographs, and over 36,000 full-text conference papers. PSC has a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
A broad array of basic social sciences journals, including interdisciplinary fields. Covers a wide array of areas, including addiction studies, ethics, public welfare, urban studies, and much more.
SocINDEX with FullText This link opens in a new window
A resource for core journals in sociology and related disciplines including criminology, ethnic studies and more. In addition to full-text journals, it contains informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Offers access to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides in-depth and non-evaluative abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800 serial publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. The database backfile dates to 1952.
JSTOR Journals and Books This link opens in a new window
The journals archive consists of older (at least 2-5 years) issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects including the arts, humanities, and social sciences. The eBook collections are DRM-free and allow for unlimited concurrent use and unlimited chapter downloads and printing.
Social Sciences Citation Index® This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a citation database that covers three major tools: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The complete database covers thousands of scholarly journals from 1975 to the present across a broad range of disciplines. Because it is a citation index, you can use this tool to find articles that cite a previously published work, allowing you to trace an idea forward and backward in the literature. In addition to cited reference searching, you can search these databases by topic, author, and more. You may also create Journal Citation Reports - select the Databases or the Additional Resources tab.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 This link opens in a new window
Indexing a wide range of peer-reviewed humanities and social sciences content for nearly 1,200 periodicals, 1,300,000+ citations and over 240,000 book reviews.

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary full text, peer reviewed academic journals that support scholarly research in key areas of academic study.

Business/Public Administration

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This database contains monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, detailed author profiles and more. Indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included.
ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new window
The ABI/INFORM Collection is comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as The Economist and Sloan Management Review, country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources like the Wall Street Journal. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world. Also provides valuable historical perspective, with journals and other material dating back to the early 1900s.
Gale OneFile Business This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management, and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications, updated daily. Complementing these titles is a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications,
Gale Business Insights This link opens in a new window
Thousands of global company, country and business topic overviews featuring detailed information as well as interactive rankings and statistics, with quick links to associated content. Global Histories, SWOT Reports, Thomson Reuters Company Financials and Investment Reports, Market Share Reports, and Industry Research Essays. Full-text articles from academic journals, business periodicals, newswires and other media outlets,,200 business executive video interviews and lessons for deeper insight into issues and decision-making.
Thousands of interactive LiveCharts for economic and business indicators that let researchers generate their own analyses and custom charts for reports and presentations.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
General news and company, industry, and other business information (mostly full-text) from newspapers, newswires, magazines, trade journals in 22 languages from 118 countries. Also includes color photos from Reuters and Knight-Ridder publications, company reports, SEC filings, web contents, and transcripts from BBC, ABC, CBS, NBC, Fox, CNN, NPR and more.

News/Newspapers

Mercury News This link opens in a new window
This is the major newspaper in Silicon Valley. The link above provides free access to some current articles. Subscription access is available from Newsbank Mercury News Historical and Current (1884 to present). Access is also available from ProQuest Newsstand (2010 to 2016) and ProQuest Newsstream (2016-2019)
U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
From ProQuest: Users may search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives from the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Content includes access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. Also included: CBS News 60 MInutes, US Hispanic Newsstream, US Major Dailies, US Midwest Newsstream, US North Central Newsstream, US Northeast Newsstream, US South Newsstream
Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
The Los Angeles Times (also known as the LA Times) is a daily newspaper published in Los Angeles, California and distributed throughout the Western United States.
New York Times via ProQuest (1980 - present ) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text, full image, cover-to-cover access to the New York Times.
New York Times via ProQuest Historical (1851- present) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text, full image, cover-to-cover access to the New York Times.
Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
Alternative and independent media coverage. Independent voices and regional, rural, and metropolitan perspectives on local, national, and international issues from some of the most respected and cited grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals in the U.S. Approximately 260+ publications.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
This collection includes newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press, and offers diverse viewpoints and perspectives.

NewsBank California Collection
A collection featuring California news sources including newspapers, university and college newspapers, web only content, blogs, newswires, and America's News magazines. The collection includes San Jose Mercury News and the Sacramento Bee.

International News/Country Information

CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
CountryWatch provides critical country-specific intelligence and data that covers demographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental subject matter. Click on My Subscription in top right corner of page to to discover what's included and available.
World Factbook This link opens in a new window
The Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
World Geography This link opens in a new window
General information on countries of the world, including overviews of the culture, environment, history, and government.

Politics/Government Documents

U.S. Government Publications Catalog This link opens in a new window
Finding tool for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government.
U.S. Census This link opens in a new window
The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. Statistics are organized by themes, or topics, making it easier for you to find what you need.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994 This link opens in a new window
Includes House & Senate Reports, Senate treaty documents and Senate executive reports, and presidential messages. To see documents before this date, refer to the American State Papers, 1789-1838.
U.S. Constitutions This link opens in a new window
This database contains the full text of the U.S. federal constitution, each of the 50 state constitutions, plus constitutions of the U.S. Virgin Islands, Puerto Rico, Guam, the Marshall Islands, Northern Mariana Islands, and the Federated States of Micronesia. Restricted to 3 simultaneous users
U.S. Declassified Documents Online This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary, comprehensive source which includes previously classified government documents from the White House and a variety of U.S. government agencies during post World War II through the 1970s. Also explores the political, economic, and social conditions during domestic and foreign events. Includes documents from presidential libraries.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Presents statistical & quantitative history of the United States from the earliest times to the present. Contains more than 37,000 annual time series of historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations. Each series is fully documented and placed in historical context by a recognized expert.
American Government This link opens in a new window
Contains 12,000+ primary and secondary sources, including 1,200 documents, 4,000 images, 200 maps, and 200 audio/video recordings covering the United States government and political system, including such topics as national security, civil rights, immigration, and health care reform.. This database American Government also provides over 2,100 biographies of important historical and current government figures.
American State Papers This link opens in a new window
Search and browse legislative and executive documents of the first 14 U.S. Congresses. This collection covers such historical events as Lewis and Clark’s Expedition, Burr’s Conspiracy and Arrest, the Treaty of the Creek Indians made by Andrew Jackson and much more. Also includes speeches and messages of Presidents Washington, Adams, Jefferson and Madison. Note: Please refer to the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 database for post 1816 documents.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Covers 1923 to the present. This weekly publication gives background information on current and controversial issues. Unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Provides an excellent first-step in researching any current social issue. Includes pro-con articles, opinion pieces, newspaper pieces, scholarly articles and information from many other types of sources, all full text.
C-SPAN Video Library This link opens in a new window
The C-SPAN Archives records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses. Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987, now totaling over 160,000 hours, is contained in the C-SPAN Archives. All C-SPAN programs since 1993 are digital and can be viewed online for free. Duplicate copies of programs that have aired since 1987 can be obtained and used for education, research, review or home viewing purposes.

Other Useful Library Guides

Transportation Management Guide
If you're looking for information on transportation policy, there might be some relevant information in the Transportation Management library guide.
Special Collections Guide
The King Library has a special collections department that houses many political papers you might find useful for your research.
Government Publications Guide
This guide is an excellent source of information for finding local, state, regional, national, and international government sources. It also discusses how to get statistics from the U.S. Census.