SJSU Research Guides: Public Administration: Home

Your Librarian

Essy Barroso-Ramirez

Subjects: Communication Studies, Political Science

News/Newspapers

U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
From ProQuest: Users may search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives from the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Content includes access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. Also included: CBS News 60 MInutes, US Hispanic Newsstream, US Major Dailies, US Midwest Newsstream, US North Central Newsstream, US Northeast Newsstream, US South Newsstream
NewsBank California Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection featuring California news sources including newspapers, university and college newspapers, web only content, blogs, newswires, and America's News magazines. The collection includes San Jose Mercury News. Coverage begins in 1985.
Mercury News This link opens in a new window
This is the major newspaper in Silicon Valley. Some current San Jose Mercury News articles available at website. Access is also available from Newsbank Mercury News Historical and Current (1884 to present). Access is also available from ProQuest Newsstand (2010 to 2016) and ProQuest Newsstream (2016-2019)
Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
The Los Angeles Times (also known as the LA Times) is a daily newspaper published in Los Angeles, California and distributed throughout the Western United States.
New York Times via ProQuest (1980 - present ) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text, full image, cover-to-cover access to the New York Times.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text, full image, cover-to-cover access to the New York Times.
Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
Alternative and independent media coverage. Independent voices and regional, rural, and metropolitan perspectives on local, national, and international issues from some of the most respected and cited grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals in the U.S. Approximately 260+ publications.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
This collection includes newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press, and offers diverse viewpoints and perspectives.

New York Times Online (Current)
Members of the SJSU community have free access to the online version of the New York Times. This link will show you how,

American Indian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828-2016. This collection provides research opportunities into subjects including the self-determination era and American Indian Movement (AIM), education, environmentalism, land rights and cultural representation from an Indigenous perspective. The 45 unique titles also include bi-lingual and Indigenous-language editions, such as Hawaiian, Cherokee and Navajo languages.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Sentinel This link opens in a new window
The oldest and largest black newspaper in the western United States and the largest African-American owned newspaper in the U.S., covering issues concerning the African-American community and its readers. Note: Coverage includes May 17, 1934 - Dec 30, 2010 with exceptions (Jan 1, 1941 - Dec 31, 1945 not available)

Public Administration

Welcome to the SJSU King Library subject guide for Public Administration. Please use the tabs on the left hand menu to find quality resources in Public Administration. If you have any questions or comments about this guide please let me know.

Essy Barroso-Ramirez

essy.barroso-ramirez@sjsu.edu

Instructors: As the library liaison to the Political Science Department as well as the Master's Program for Public Administration, I am available for course specific library instruction classes. Feel free to contact me to schedule a session tailored to your individual course needs.

Other Resources

Department of Political Science
SJSU Political Science Department
College of Social Sciences
Political Science is a department within the College of Social Sciences
Writing Center
SJSU Writing Center located in Clark Hall.
Citation Guides & Style Manuals
King Library Citing and Writing help page.

Citation

Citation managers such as Zotero and Paperpile are programs that allow the users to collect, organize, and cite sources. They also allow for collaboration and some provide the ability to store and annotate PDFs within the system.

Why should you use a citation manager?

Organize sources using folders, tags, and even group libraries for collaboration with people across the world.
Many have browser extensions or integration with library software to make it easy to collect items when you research so you don't forget about the paper you saw 10 pages ago.
Many integrate with Google Docs and/or Microsoft Word to make it easy to cite sources while writing.

Getting Started

Zotero is a free, open source citation manager with a desktop app, browser extension, and integration with Google Docs, Microsoft Word, and LibreOffice.

Installing Zotero is simple- just 3 easy steps!

1. Download Zotero. Go to Zotero.org and click on the red Download button. From the download page, download the desktop app and the browser extension, Zotero Connector.

2. Register for an account. Click on the register link in the upper right hand corner of the download page. Fill out the form to create your account.

3. Log in to Zotero. Once the Zotero desktop app downloads, find and open Preferences (Mac users: Zotero menu, PC users: Edit menu). Click over to the Sync tab and enter your username and password. Now you're set to use Zotero!

Getting Started with Zotero Handout

Getting Started

Paperpile is a web-based reference citation management system, with emphasis on integration with Google apps and Google Chrome.

Getting Started
1. Select the Start Free Trial option. You will need to login with your SJSU email address.
2. Next, go to Settings > Account info and click on "Activate site license"
3. Enter your SJSU email address, and then click the activation link you will receive via email.

Installing the Chrome Extension

When starting Paperpile, it will prompt you to install the browser extension that helps save citations to your library. If the pop-up does not show up, click here to install the extension.