Public Administration

This is the U.S. Government's official web search engine.

Searches political and policy sites for election campaigns, news commentary, government, grassroots issues, parties, research tools, and related topics.

Allows users to search many different human rights sites simultaneously. Includes a wide variety of human rights organizations, United Nations bodies, intergovernmental agencies, nongovernmental organizations, and governments.

Maintained by Pacific Information Resources. Links to a wide array of free searchable public record databases.

Provides gateways to both United States and international government information.

Official site.

Official site.

Official site.

A good guide to many California political sites.

Provides information on elections, voting, ballot initiatives, statistics, campaign finance, and lobbyists.

Guide to United States case law, law codes, law review articles, and other law materials.

Official page of the Judicial Council of California. Recommended for keeping abreast of the latest developments in California law.

Maintained by Cornell. Brings together Supreme Court information collected by the Legal Information Institute and Project Hermes. An excellent source for information on the Supreme Court.

Useful for understanding US Supreme Court decisions related to core constitutional issues.

Another online version of the Constitution, provided by the U.S. Senate.

This US Supreme Court database includes briefs on constitutional cases, biographies, portraits of all justices who have served on the Supreme Court, and links to written opinions.

Major reference source for the federal courts, including biographical information on federal judges, legislative histories of the courts, and selected topics in judicial history.

Official web site.

Official public page for Congressional information.

Guide to members of Congress throughout history.

This weekly newspaper covers Congress and also provides news coverage and a very useful congressional directory.

C-SPAN [Cable-Satellite Public Affairs Network] is a public service created by the American television industry to cover proceedings of the United States House of Representatives and Senate.

The PPIC is a private, nonprofit organization dedicated to independent, nonpartisan research on economic, social, and political issues in California.

This site posts online reports and public opinion data on public policy issues.

Formerly the Electronic Policy Network and Moving Ideas, Politics for Change posts the best ideas and resources from leading progressive research and advocacy institutions.

A daily "snapshot" of California public policy and politics.

Provides resources on campaign finance reform and the structure of the US election system, including the electoral college.

Features information on each presidential candidate's assets, and campaign funding sources.

A nonprofit, nonpartisan organization. The site features reports on campaign donors and charts on campaign expenditures.

The website of the Center for Responsive Politics. Provides information on the amount and source of funds on campaign finance and related topics.

Provides vote totals for every congressional candidate in elections from 1920 to the present.

Provides information on both the popular vote by state and the number of electoral votes each presidential candidate received.

Provides the public with comprehensive access to information about upcoming elections. Includes an Internet Guide to California's Legislature.

This interactive website is designed to improve the quality and quantity of voter information.

Another excellent guide provided by the League of Women Voters. This site is designed to be easy to use and provides voters with comprehensive nonpartisan information about contests on their ballot.

This nonpartisan nonprofit organization provides current data on congressional voting. Includes information from advocacy groups and their positions on congressional voting.

Official site.

Official site.

Official site.

Official site.

Official site.

Official site.

Official site.

Official site.

Provides information on the society and culture of most countries.

This annual publication is provided by the Central Intelligence Agency. An excellent source for quick country information.

Contains geographical, economic, demographic and social statistics for all United Nations members.

Provides a listing of political parties, activist organizations, movements, and government agencies that relate to international politics and policies.

This site is the official record of major US foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.

Sponsored by the International Crisis Group, this site provides analytical information about trouble spots in the world.

Operated by the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees, this site is a very comprehensive information source for refugees' issues around the world.

This site is a comprehensive source for documents related to human rights and links to other human rights sites.

Nongovernmental organization devoted to human rights. Annual reports cover most countries in the world. Also includes links to other human rights organizations.

Online archive of previously secret documents that are frequently requested under the Freedom of Information Act.

Maintained by the University of California, San Diego. Includes voting data and electoral information for many countries in the world.

The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), established in 1962, is an integral part of the infrastructure of social science research. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, and offers training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use. To ensure that data resources are available to future generations of scholars, ICPSR preserves data.