Dictionary of Nursing Theory and Research by
Designated a Doody's Core Title Praise for the previous edition: This reference is valuable to scholars at all levels of nursing and is especially useful to researchers. . . . With this volume at hand consumers of research and theory will learn more easily and quickly.Molly (Mickey) Dougherty, PhD, RN Professor of Nursing, University of North Carolina Editor, Nursing Research What distinguishes this Dictionary from others are its attention to the diversity in inquiry and distinctively nursing 'takes' on key concepts in theory and research. This Dictionary will be a welcome addition to the libraries of both new and experienced researchers." Margarete Sandelowski Cary C. Boshamer Distinguished Professor University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill The fourth edition of this classic dictionary for understanding traditional and new concepts in nursing theory and research encompasses the considerable changes that have occurred in the clinical health sciences since the previous edition was published. It includes updates and new references for entries from the previous edition, and information related to developing areas of research and practice. New content that reflects nursing priorities in research and theory development in the current interprofessional health care environment is featured. This book remains an invaluable reference for nursing students, researchers, theoreticians, and scholars.Key features: Includes new and updated entries on developing national and international research trends, such as translational research, implementation science, and comparative effectiveness research Contains content related to high-priority research areas, such as biological and biobehavioral research, outcomes research, health services research, and participatory models of research Presents cross-references and citations from relevant multinational nursing and interdisciplinary literature sources Incorporates information based on the scrutiny of students and faculty to ensure utmost clarity
Nursing Theories: a Framework for Professional Practice by 
Nursing Theorists and Their Work by 
Philosophies and Theories for Advanced Nursing Practice by You can search for articles related to a specific nursing theory or theorist by using the CINAHL Subject Headings search in the CINAHL database. Enter either the theory/model name or the theorist's last name in the search field. Helpful screenshots can be found on this third-party site: How do I find articles relating to a nursing theory or theorist?
For example:
More tips can be found on the Daemen Library "Nursing Theory" research guide. Note that this website contains links that won't open for SJSU users.
In Nursing Theory a Primary Source is:
Whereas a Secondary Source is: