SJSU Research Guides: Ed.D Research Resources: Articles & Databases

Educational Videos

Education in Video This link opens in a new window
Education in Video is a collection of streaming videos developed specifically for training and developing teachers. Covers teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. Note: The library subscribes to Volume 1.
Counseling and Therapy in Video This link opens in a new window
Vol I & II. This online video collection is ideal for training in social work, psychology, multi-cultural studies, and other areas. The sessions are hosted and edited by leading psychologists, psychiatrists, social workers, and academics in the U.S., Canada, and the U.K.

Teaching Channel
This free, online repository of 700-plus professional development videos aimed at teachers or credential students in pre-K-12 is created and maintained by the same nonprofit organization that produces the Teaching Channel Presents, a weekly one-hour program that appears on PBS.

Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new window
Distributes online educational videos including documentaries, films, interviews plus a range of short video series. The videos are arranged by collections: Arts, Business, Communication/Media, Education (K-12), Health, Humanities, Science. SJSU students, staff, and faculty: You will be asked to authenticate on and off campus.

Finding Articles: Primary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary full text, peer reviewed academic journals that support scholarly research in key areas of academic study.
academic search premier
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers key areas of education and related fields of study, as well as educational specialties, administration, funding and more. Additionally, this database includes indexing for nearly 1,025 periodicals dating back to 1983. Education Full Text also features in-depth coverage of special education, with more than 50 journals dedicated to this important topic.
Education Index Retrospective: 1929-1983 This link opens in a new window
Covering a century of research, this database provides cover-to-cover indexing for an international range of English-language periodicals and yearbooks in the field of education. Limited to 2 concurrent users
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
ERIC via Ebsco This link opens in a new window
The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) provides access to educational literature and resources.
ebsc ebsco host ebscohost ebso
ERIC via US Govt web site This link opens in a new window
Established in 1966, ERIC is the largest education database in the world-containing over 1.5 million records of journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books. It. is supported by the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Educational Research and Improvement and is administered by the U.S. National Library of Education (NLE).
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
This resource, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database covers general psychology as well as specialized, applied, clinical and theoretical research.
PsycEXTRA This link opens in a new window
PsycEXTRA, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), is a bibliographic and full-text companion to the scholarly PsycINFO database. Document types include technical, annual and government reports, conference papers, newsletters, magazines, newspapers, consumer brochures and more. Extensive coverage of gray literature relating to psychology and the behavioral sciences.
psy psych psycho psychinfo psych info psyc
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA) contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines, dating from the 1800s. PsycINFO is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
psy psych psycho psychinfo psych info psyc
Scopus This link opens in a new window
This abstract and citation database covers thousands of scholarly journals, books, and conference proceedings. Covering a broad range of disciplines, Scopus enables one to track, analyze, and visualize research. Output data at the institutional and author levels are available. Authors will find h-index, Source Normalized Impact per Paper (SNIP), and citation counts helpful in demonstrating the impact of their work.

We are adding mobile access capabilities to many of our databases. Keep checking back as this list will be growing.

Finding Articles: Secondary Databases

Multidisciplinary databases

LearnTechLib This link opens in a new window
(formerly known as Ed/ITLib Digital Library). Peer-reviewed and published international journal articles and proceedings papers on the latest research, developments, and applications related to all aspects of Educational Technology and E-Learning.

Practice Guides - Institute of Education Sciences
The guides cover a variety of topics, including math, reading comprehension, instructional decision making, academic achievement, behavior problems, dropout rates, low performing schools, ESL, and study skills. These full text guides are in the public domain so they are freely available to all.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
Primary database for doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Full text of more than 1.9 million of these titles is available in PDF format. Represents over 1,000 graduate schools and universities in North America and around the world. Dissertations from 1980 & master's theses from 1988 include abstracts written by the author. Help Guide available.
SocINDEX with FullText This link opens in a new window
A resource for core journals in sociology and related disciplines including criminology, ethnic studies and more. In addition to full-text journals, it contains informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Offers access to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides in-depth and non-evaluative abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800 serial publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. The database backfile dates to 1952.
Web of Science (and InCites ESI & JCR) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a citation database that covers three major tools: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The complete database covers thousands of scholarly journals from 1975 to the present across a broad range of disciplines. Included in the subscription: InCites Journal Citation Reports and Essential Science Indicators (ESI). Use the ESI Help Guide and JCR Help Guide to learn more.

Creating a Bibliography

The electronic resource, RefWorks, helps set up bibliographies for papers in many style formats, e.g. APA, MLA, Harvard, etc. To get the Institutional code, please refer to the Passwords page for SJSU students on the library's Academic Gateway page.

Borrowing from other libraries

There are some cases where the SJSU library does not have access to a journal article. You can use the Interlibrary Loan service, called ILLiad, to obtain an article. There is no charge for this service, but you must set up an account.

Testing Resources

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
This database provides users with a comprehensive guide to 3,000+ contemporary testing instruments. Critical reviews and descriptive information for English-language commercially available standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas (as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbook). Limited to 4 simultaneous users