History Resources for Teachers

A PBS website dedicated to the history of the American West. Check out the resources tab for transcriptions of historical Documents.

Publication of the Western History Association.

Full text of the most extended version of the expedition's journals ever published.

Index of online and freely available sources for a variety of American West topics.

The Online Archive of California (OAC) provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California.

The California Studies Association (CSA) is dedicated to the exchange of ideas about California, the promotion of an integrated understanding of California as a region, and to creating a public discourse on the future of this richly textured state.

California Historical Society collects, preserves, documents, and makes accessible to the public the state’s continuing heritage.

Reference and research library for California's government and Legislature, collection spans California's history.

Repository for the state's permanent governmental records as well as other materials documenting California history.

Collections document local, regional, and California history, with a specific focus on history, politics, literature, and art as well as the history of SJSU.

Historical census information available online.

The California Three Rs Project (CA3Rs) is a program for finding common ground on issues related to religious liberty and the First Amendment in public schools. The CA3Rs’ approach is based on the principles of American democracy and citizenship, reflected in the First Amendment of the Bill of Rights and applied in a public school setting.

Dedicated to the study and preservation of the California Missions, presidios, pueblos, ranchos and their Native American, Hispanic and Early American past.

Special collection contain strength in San Francisco history.

The Academy maintains an extensive photograph collection and historical ephemera relating primarily to the history of Santa Clara County (especially San Jose) and the central coast region of California.

Articles ordered by subject or date on a variety of historical events of the city.

Links to the unique historical holdings at the Martin Luther King Jr. Library at SJSU.

Special collections and archive of University of California Berkeley, particularly strong in Western American and California.