History Resources for Teachers

The Schools of California Online Resources for Education (SCORE) is recommended as the first place to start. Lessons by grade level are organized by the California Frameworks and Standards.

This Web site is designed to help teachers use the American Memory digital collections of the Library of Congress. Contains vast amounts of primary source materials for class projects.

Provides materials from the United States National Archives and methods for teaching with primary sources.

Includes historical thinking exercises for middle and high school students using visual sources. Created by the Center for Children and Technology, Education Development Center.

Contains hundreds of lesson plans for a variety of age groups -- all dealing with a number of topics, such as language arts, science, and history. Search by document type, keyword, subject, and grade.

Marty Levine, California State University, Northridge, has gathered lesson plans and resources from the Internet for social studies teachers.

Try both the lesson plans and the search edsitement sites to locate a wide range of online resources. Sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities.

History Detectives allows students to discover the importance of local historical sites and hidden histories in attics, basements, and garages!

Teaching and learning with the New York Times. Lessons for subjects across the curriculum based on Times content.

EBSCO presents teacher lesson plans & handouts, guides, tip sheets, and useful links to assist teachers in integrating database content into lesson plans.

Resource put together by the Educational Resource Center at the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh

Lesson Plans created by teachers arranged by Michigan State University College of Education and Ameritech

Collection of Holocaust Activities for various grade levels produced by the Florida Center for Instructional Technology,
College of Education, University of South Florida

The History-Social Science Course Models project started in 1999 to provide K-12 teachers with course models that are easy to implement and to share.

Search the ERIC Database by subject to locate articles in professional education journals.

Check for education news, information on jobs, grant resources, and professional development resources.

Features professional development projects for History and Social Sciences teachers.

Includes general information for history teachers including classroom content, resources or students, and more.

Facilitates discussion of curriculum, instructional strategies, and educational resources. A member of H-Net, Humanities and Social Sciences Online.