Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nutrition and Food Science

Here you will find nutrition and food science resources that will help you in your research.

Interlibrary Loan Services

Can't find what you're looking for in our databases, Catalog, or Link+?  If so, then use Interlibrary Services (ILS) to special order your request.

Interlibrary Services is a service whereby SJSU Library patrons can borrow materials that are owned by another library.

Placing an Interlibrary Services Request:

First, you will need an ILLiad account to place requests.  Go to http://illiad.sjlibrary.org/illiad/logon.html and click on “First Time Users.”  From here, you will be able to make your account and then make requests.

Request Limits: There are no request limits.

Cost: Most requests are free. SJSU Library does pay for most ILS costs, but if a library has high lending fees, we will contact the patrons in advance to confirm whether or not they are willing to pay the fees.

Waiting Period: In most cases, loan material, which includes books, videos, DVDs, sound recordings, and microfilm, are received in 7 to 10 business days.  Electronic copies of articles usually take 2 to 3 business days.  There is no guarantee that the requested material will be located.

How I can get a full text article?

PubMed, ScienceDirect, and Web of Science contain hundreds of thousands of journal articles.  However, not all of these articles are available directly through thses databases in full text format (PDF, HTML). 

For example, the database PubMed only provides citations and abstracts to individual journal articles (not the entire article itself).  To see if the full text of an article is available through King Library, you need to click on the SJSU GetText link  GetText


If SJSU  Library does not subscribe to an article you want, you can request a copy of the article (for free!) through Interlibrary Services. To request an article, you first need to set-up your own personal ILLiad account.   When  Interlibrary Services receives a copy of the article for you, it will be delivered electronically to your ILLiad account.