SJSU Research Guides: Nutrition and Food Science: Articles by Topic

The Big 3: Recommended Databases for Nutrition and Food Science Students

Have a topic and need to do some research?

Below are the top databases for nutrition and food science students.

Need help accessing these resources? Log on to our Chat service or contact Geetali Basu at geetali.basu@sjsu,edu

Food Science Source This link opens in a new window Offers full-text coverage for 1,300+ publications, all dealing with food industry-related issues, such as packaging, processing, product development, safety, etc. More than 1,000 key food industry and market reports are also included.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
1300+ full-text journals available to support nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This resource also provides access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheet and quick lesson disease overviews, and continuing education modules.
cinhal
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Searches MEDLINE, the leading database of journal articles in the health sciences, including medicine, nursing, the allied health sciences, public health, and the basic sciences. Coverage is 1946 - present.

More Nutrition, Food Science & Technology Related Databases

Biological Abstracts
more...less...
Indexes original research articles in biological and biomedical journals. Includes traditional areas of biology such as botany, zoology, and microbiology, as well as related fields such as biomedicine, agriculture, pharmacology and ecology, interdisciplinary fields.
Nursing and Allied Health Collection
more...less...
Nursing and Allied Health Collection brings together information found in 1,115 journals, with a strong emphasis on full text titles cited in CINAHL. The collection meets the needs of researchers at all levels of nursing in all specialties, including vocational/licensed practical nurse (LPN), registered nurse (RN), occupational health nurse, nurse practitioner, nurse midwife, nurse anesthetist, clinical nurse specialist.

Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window
This database covers scholarly research and industry news dating back to 1965. Sources are both domestic and international in range and scope. There is full text for more than 490 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus covers sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, and much more.

sport discus
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Offers access to engineering research literature and patent databases including Compendex and Inspec. Also includes GeoRef and GEOBASE databases.
Agricola This link opens in a new window
U.S. Department of Agriculture catalog. Indexes agriculture and allied disciplines, including food & nutrition, entomology, plant sciences, aquaculture, agricultural economics, earth and environmental sciences.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from approximately 2,050 periodicals in more than 25 languages. PsycINFO is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
Alt Healthwatch This link opens in a new window
Alternative health research providing the latest information and materials for the evolving practice of holistic medicine and therapies through 190+ international, and often peer-reviewed, journals.

General Article Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary full text, peer reviewed academic journals that support scholarly research in key areas of academic study.
academic search premier
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Authoritative review articles, summaries, evaluations and bibliographies of research literature in many disciplines. Reviews the most significant primary research literature to guide researchers to the principal contributions of their field and help them keep up to date in their area of research. Includes Life Sciences and Biomedical Collections including the following titles: Analytical Chemistry, Animal Biosciences, Anthropology, Astronomy and Astrophysics, Biochemistry, Biomedical Engineering, Biophysics, Cancer Biology, Cell and Developmental Biology, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, Clinical Psychology, Condensed Matter Physics, Earth and Planetary Sciences, Ecology Evolution and Systematics, Entomology, Environment and Resources, Fluid Mechanics, Food Science and Technology, Genetics, Genomics and Human Genetics, Immunology, Law and Social Science, Linguistics, Marine Science, Materials Research, Medicine, Microbiology, Neuroscience, Nuclear and Particle Science, Nutrition, Organizational Psychology and Organizational Behavior, Pathology, Pharmacology and Toxicology, Physical Chemistry, Physiology, Phytopathology, Plant Biology, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health, Sociology, Statistics and its Application, Virology, and Vision Science.
OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition This link opens in a new window
Covers several core subjects, featuring full-text articles from more than 3,000 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, dating back to 1994. Additional content includes indexing and abstracting for more than 5,100 publications and retrospective coverage dating as far back as 1982.
Web of Science (and ESI & JCR) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a citation database that covers three major tools: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The complete database covers thousands of scholarly journals from 1975 to the present across a broad range of disciplines. Included in the subscription: Journal Citation Reports and Essential Science Indicators (ESI). Use the ESI Help Guide and JCR Help Guide to learn more. Also included is the Grants Index which is found under the Web of Science core collection drop down menu.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of e-journals and ebooks covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and ebooks in science, technology and medicine (STM), arts, humanities and social sciences. Click on "Journals and Books" link on the website to filter by subscribed, open access and complimentary access to know what is available to you. Note: You may see a screen from Elsevier asking: “Are you a Human”. It's okay to click on the box. It's a verification process to prevent automated traffic (BOTS) from abusing excessive downloads of PDFs.

Business Databases

ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new window
The ABI/INFORM Collection is comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as The Economist and Sloan Management Review, country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources like the Wall Street Journal. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world. Also provides valuable historical perspective, with journals and other material dating back to the early 1900s.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This database contains monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, detailed author profiles and more. Indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included.
Business Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Access to product evaluations, interviews, full text articles, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews and reports from associations, societies, trade shows, conferences and more.
Hoovers Company Profiles This link opens in a new window
In-depth company profiles including operations, officers, strategies, competitors, histories, locations, products & brand names, and financial information Also known as Business Market Research Collection.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
U.S. company data covering approximately 10,000 public companies and their SEC filings. Includes: U.S. Annual Reports: Easy-to-access current and historical annual reports; International company data. Online version of: Mergent industrial manual, Mergent international manual, Mergent bank & finance manual, Mergent OTC industrial manual, Mergent OTC unlisted manual, and Mergent public utility & transportation manual.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Business news from local English-language business journals, newspapers and newswires covering many metropolitan and rural areas within the United States and Canada.

Biographical Databases

Biography Index Retrospective : 1946-1983 This link opens in a new window
This collection includes indexing of interviews and profiles of history makers, as well as obituaries, collections of letters, diaries, memoirs, juvenilia, book reviews, bibliographies, and exhibition reviews. Includes actors, military leaders, educators, scientists, sports figures and more.
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Offering the in-depth, original profiles of Current Biography and World Authors series, the thorough periodical coverage of Biography Index, and the specialist biographical content of Junior Authors & Illustrators, this database contains biographical full text articles, page images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals—providing the most current coverage of an individual’s life and work. 4 concurrent users
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Offers an online collection of reference materials including encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Formerly known as Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Marquis Who's Who This link opens in a new window
Provides up-to-the-minute comprehensive biographies of approximately 1.5 million leaders and achievers from around the world, past and present, in business, law, science, medicine, the arts, government, entertainment and more. Limited to 5 simultaneous users

PubChem

PubChem