SJSU Research Guides: History: Current & Pro/Con Sources

Pro and Con: Polling and Opinion Sources

Economic Policy Institute Datazone
An excellent collection of outstanding annotated links to Web sites offering polling data.
Gallup Poll
Offers online polling data starting with 1997.
more...less...
Consult the printed Gallup Poll Monthly, Reference 2nd floor HM261 .A1 G25 and the Gallup Poll, Reference 2nd floor HN90 .P8 G35 for earlier years.
National Opinion Research Center
Reports on national surveys, such as gun policies.
Polling Report
Offers polling results and data on public opinion about current controversial issues.
Public Agenda Online
Web site issue guides cover topics such as crime, education, environment, and immigration.
more...less...
This nonpartisan nonprofit research organization emphasizes public opinion, policy analysis, and citizen education.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
Provides summary information on surveys and studies measuring public opinion on many social, political, and economic issues.

Pro and Con: Magazines and Newspapers

American Journalism Review
Thought provoking criticism of the news.
IPL Newspapers
The Internet Public Library includes online newspapers from around the world.
Newslink
Provides links to many online newspapers and magazines. Includes list of most-linked-to local news sites in the United States.

Pro and Con: Circulating Books

Ideas in Conflict
This series covers a wide variety of topics such as euthanasia, the genetic revolution, and the death penalty. Bibliography and recommended reading lists included in each volume.
CALL NUMBERS VARY - CIRCULATING COLLECTIONS

Opposing Viewpoints
Each volume consists of material drawn from books, magazines, newspapers, and position papers. For and against articles are placed back to back in sections outlining a particular aspect of the main topic.
CALL NUMBERS VARY - CIRCULATING COLLECTIONS

Reference Shelf
This is a series of books. Each volume contains collections of magazine articles showing different viewpoints on the same subjects.
CALL NUMBERS VARY - CIRCULATING COLLECTIONS

Pro and Con: Websites For Special Topics

Death Penalty Information Center
An example of a site devoted to a particular topic.
e-Books at SJSU
Electronic books can also provide background information on topics.
Institute for Global Communications
An example of an advocacy group promoting certain social views.
Rand Corporation
Presents research on a wide range of issues.
Scout Report Archives
An excellent source to search by topic for specialized websites.
Search the Internet
Identifies the strengths of top search engines for locating information on topics.

Pro and Con: Statistical/Government Sources

FedStats
Includes statistics from over 70 federal agencies.

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Presents statistical & quantitative history of the United States from the earliest times to the present. Contains more than 37,000 annual time series of historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations. Each series is fully documented and placed in historical context by a recognized expert.

SJSU Government Publications
Government publications are also an excellent resource, particularly the transcripts of Congressional hearings, which include the testimony of witnesses speaking on both sides (or several sides) of controversial issues.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Use online or the printed copy in the Library. Use the call number to find older years in the circulating stacks. Browse through the tables of the printed copy if the online version at the US Bureau of Census is a bit hard to read.
HA202 .A2 - REFERENCE DESK 2ND FLOOR
Statistical Resources on the Web
An outstanding starting point and reliable source for statistics on the Web. Covers all subject areas. By the University of Michigan Documents Center.

U.S. Census This link opens in a new window
Includes Statistical Abstracts of the United States. Contains a wide range of information on the public and private sectors of American life.

Critical Thinking

Critically Analyzing Information Sources
more...less...
Exercise critical thinking as you evaluate your material and formulate your position. Consult this page to learn how to use information on the author, date of publication, publisher, intended audience. From the Cornell University Library.
Evaluating Sources of Information
more...less...
Ask some questions before you start. Not all of the information "out there" is trustworthy. Part of the Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue.
Thinking Critically about WWW Resources
more...less...
An excellent guide for evaluating content and source and date on World Wide Web pages. By Esther Grassian, UCLA College Library.