Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History

Links to help you find resources in History.

General Newspapers

Local Newspapers

About Primary Sources

Print & Microfilm Collections @ King Library

American Culture Series 1493-1875
Use this cumulative index to the microform collection to locate materials from 1493 - 1875. Divided by author, title, subject and reel number.
E156 .A44X - REFERENCE

American Periodical Series 1741-1900
A cumulative index to the microfilm collection of American Periodicals covering 1741 - 1900. Divided by title, subject, editor and reel number. An index is available in micorform on the Lower Level call number PN4877 .H66x.
AP 2.A44X - REFERENCE - MICROFILM

Microfilm Publications
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) has created a Web microfilms database that provides description and location information for almost 3,400 NARA microfilms.

Pamphlets in American history: A Bibliographic Guide to the Microform Collection
Pamphlets are an excellent primary source. This guide to the microform collection is divided by pamphlet number on the film, author, title and subject.
E173 .P26X 1979 - REFERENCE - MICROFORM

The Emerging Nation
This resource contains diplomatic despatches, treaties, private letters, and other source material from the early years of United States diplomacy.
E303 .E44 1996 - REFERENCE 2ND FLOOR

Speeches

Maps of California as an Island

Stanford University has just put the Glen McLaughlin Collection of Maps of California as an Island online.  This unique collection traces the world's view of California from the earliest conjectures through to the modern age.  To learn more and to visit collection, visit         http://bit.ly/caislandmaps

Military History Resources

For primary source material related to military topics, be sure to visit the Military History Resources libguide.