Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History

Links to help you find resources in History.

Off Campus Access

To use SJSU databases from off campus, you must have a University ID number and a Library PIN. To create your PIN, go to your Library Account

Forgot your PIN? Reset it online! 

Research Tools

General Interdisciplinary Sources

  • Not sure which database to use for your specific project? Contact me for customized advice or Ask a Librarian
  • Need help accessing these resources? Get technical assistance from Student Computing Services

Specialized Comprehensive Sources

Journals and Magazines

Retrospective Indexes (Print)

Combined Retrospective Index Set to Journals in History: 1838 - 1974
Enables researchers to find in a single place scholarly history articles in English appearing over a long period of time. The keyword indexing provides a unique approach but also has some limitations.
D1 .C18 - PERIODICALS LOWER LEVEL

Humanities Index 1974 -
Provides author and subject index to leading scholarly journals in the humanities, including the most widely read scholarly journals in history. After 1995, selected full text is available electronically as Humanities Full Text.
AI 3 .H8X - REFERENCE 2ND FLOOR

International Index: 1907-1965
A useful index to find scholarly literature published in the early part of the 20th Century.
AI 3 .R49 - REFERENCE 2ND FLOOR

PAIS International in Print: 1915-1998
The Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) provides a subject index to English language materials. Of particular interest to historians because of coverage of foreign relations, labor history and economics.
H1 .P92 - REFERENCE 2ND FLOOR

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature 1802-1904
Main volumes provide a subject index only. A good source for Nineteenth Century American history. A separate author index is also available.
A13 .P7 1963X: AI3 .P72X - REFERENCE 2ND FLOOR

Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature: 1890-
Provides author and subject indexes to popular general interest magazines. Of particular interest to historians are news magazines which report historical events shortly after they occur and often contain excellent photographs.
AI 3 .R48 - REFERENCE 2ND FLOOR

Social Sciences and Humanities Index: 1966 - 1974
A good index for scholarly articles published in the late 1960's and early 1970's.
AI3 .R49 - REFERENCE 2ND FLOOR

Social Sciences Index: 1974-
Author and subject index to scholarly journals in social sciences. Includes political science, public administration, law, sociology, anthropology. Post 1995, selected full text is available electronically in Social Sciences Full Text.
H 1 .S64X - REFERENCE 2ND FLOOR

Know the Journal Title but Not What Database its In?

If you have found the an article but don't know if the journal it was published in is included in one of our databases, use the Electronic Journal Index.  Typing in the name of the journal will tell you what databases include it and what time frames.