SJSU Research Guides: BUS5 162A: International Business Strategy: Industry &amp; Market Information

Industry & Market Information Databases

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld provides in-depth reports on over 700 industries. Each report consists of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, market size, market share of competitors, and industry growth rates. U.S. Specialized Industry Reports cover niche and emerging industries. Global Industry Reports provide world industry analysis. Subscription includes:

US Industry NAICS Reports
US Specialized Industry Reports
Global Industry Reports
California State Industry & Economic Reports
iExpert Report Summaries x2
Business Environment Reports.

ibis
ecommerceDB This link opens in a new window
Detailed information for 20,000 stores in 50 countries, including detailed revenue analytics, competitor analysis, market development, marketing budget, and interesting KPIs, such as traffic, shipping providers, payment options, social media activity and many more. Note: To use this resource, you need to select log in from the upper right menu (the three lines icon). This will authenticate you.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
U.S. company data covering approximately 10,000 public companies and their SEC filings. Includes: U.S. Annual Reports: Easy-to-access current and historical annual reports; International company data. Online version of: Mergent industrial manual, Mergent international manual, Mergent bank & finance manual, Mergent OTC industrial manual, Mergent OTC unlisted manual, and Mergent public utility & transportation manual.
Gale Business Insights This link opens in a new window
Thousands of global company, country and business topic overviews featuring detailed information as well as interactive rankings and statistics, with quick links to associated content. Global Histories, SWOT Reports, Thomson Reuters Company Financials and Investment Reports, Market Share Reports, and Industry Research Essays. Full-text articles from academic journals, business periodicals, newswires and other media outlets,,200 business executive video interviews and lessons for deeper insight into issues and decision-making.
Thousands of interactive LiveCharts for economic and business indicators that let researchers generate their own analyses and custom charts for reports and presentations.
Morningstar Investment Research Center This link opens in a new window
This service gives faculty, staff, and students access to daily updates on more than 30,000 mutual funds, stocks, closed end funds and exchange traded funds. It also includes Morningstar fund and stock screeners, all 3,500 fund and stock Analyst Reports, Portfolio X-Ray and 150 investment classes.
Value Line Investment Survey This link opens in a new window
Provides independent investment information services (ratings, summaries, opinion, reports) covering some 1,700 equity issues. For each stock covered it offers year-ahead and three-to five-year probable relative price performance, projections of key financial measures, as well as commentary on current operations and future prospects. Note: Quick Link menu shows in blue what is available to you.
Standard & Poor's Analysts' Handbook This link opens in a new window
Provides company and industry financial ratios analyzed by Standards & Poor’s with SIC and GISC codes. Kept up to date between editions by a monthly supplement called: S & P analysts' handbook. Monthly supplement, January-August 1996; Standard & Poor's analysts' handbook. Monthly supplement, September 1996- Location: King Library, 2nd floor Reference.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 1 million statistics for these topics: industries; consumer goods; internet; media & advertising; retail & trade; sports & recreation; technology & telecommunications; transportation & logistics; and travel, tourism & hospitality. Also available are government statistics, such as unemployment rates, births, and deaths. For business research, outlook reports, market research reports, country reports, dossiers, surveys, and industry reports are available.

Find Your Industry Code

If you're having difficulty defining or locating a specific industry, consider using a NAICS code. Prounounced "Naiks", it stands for the North American Industry Classification System. This system defines and classifies industries into a six-digit code. Searching on your target NAICS code will save you considerable time when gathering industry statistics and information from government websites and the databases.

You can find the code for your industry by searching these sites:

North American Industry Classification Scheme (NAICS)
Introduction to NAICS
Read a short background on NAICS and find your target industry code.

Additional Sources for Industry Statistics

Annual Survey of Manufactures (ASM)
Provides statistics on employment, payroll, supplemental labor costs, cost of materials consumed, operating expenses, value of shipments, value added by manufacturing, detailed capital expenditures, fuels and electric energy used, and inventories.
Current Industrial Reports
The CIR has timely, accurate data on production and shipments of selected products. The data are used to satisfy economic policy needs and for market analysis, forecasting, and decision-making in the private sector.
E-Stats
E-commerce data were collected in four separate Census Bureau surveys. These surveys used different measures of economic activity such as shipments for manufacturing, sales for wholesale and retail trade, and revenues for service industries. The Census Bureau’s e-commerce measures report the value of goods and services sold.
California Labor / Industry Information