BUS5 162A: International Business Strategy

This book provides the invaluable intercultural knowledge to help you make a deal, sell your product, or find a joint venture, no matter where your business takes you. Business people who work internationally or work with people who are international need to know how to act before they can get the business--and keep it. Proper business communication includes everything from emails to eye contact, and the rules of what is "right" in other countries can be daunting to navigate. Global Business Etiquette: A Guide to International Communication and Customs, Second Edition provides critical information that businesspeople--both for men and women--need to understand the dynamics of cross-cultural communication, avoid embarrassing and costly gaffes, and succeed in business outside of the United States. Topics covered in this indispensible resource include conversation topics that are considered appropriate for different situations; how to make a positive good impression; dress and travel; attitudes toward religion, education, status, and social class; and cultural variations in public behavior. Information is provided about the United States at the end of each chapter about the ten countries that Americans do the most business with to benefit international readers.

An interesting resource for learning about the cultural differences and characteristics of people across the globe, this encyclopedia covers the "do's" and "don'ts" of a breadth of countries and major ethnic groups. Readers of this one-volume reference will gain useful knowledge of what travelers should and shouldn't do when in countries outside of the United States. After a general introduction, approximately 100 alphabetically arranged entries cover topics such as greeting and meeting, appearance and dress, table manners, body language, social situations and hospitality, verbal communications, business etiquette, religious etiquette, gift-giving, and even "netiquette" regarding social media. Sidebars and images throughout make the text more accessible and engaging, and additional readings at the end of each entry as well as the bibliography offer opportunities for further research on the subject. The content also directly supports the National Geography Standards and the AP Human Geography curriculum for high school students as they learn about the cultural differences and characteristics of people in major ethnic groups across the globe. Provides comprehensive coverage of many of the world's countries and cultures that enables readers to make insightful cross-cultural comparisons Directly supports the National Geography Standards by examining cultural mosaics Provides relevant and useful information for readers preparing for study-abroad excursions or other international travel