SJSU Research Guides: BUS5 162A: International Business Strategy: Company &amp; Financial Information

Public Company Information

ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new window
The ABI/INFORM Collection is comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as The Economist and Sloan Management Review, country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources like the Wall Street Journal. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world. Also provides valuable historical perspective, with journals and other material dating back to the early 1900s.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This database contains monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, detailed author profiles and more. Indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included.
ecommerceDB This link opens in a new window
Detailed information for 20,000 stores in 50 countries, including detailed revenue analytics, competitor analysis, market development, marketing budget, and interesting KPIs, such as traffic, shipping providers, payment options, social media activity and many more. Note: After the database opens, log in by clicking the Log In button in the database's upper right menu. This will authenticate you.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 1 million statistics for these topics: industries; consumer goods; internet; media & advertising; retail & trade; sports & recreation; technology & telecommunications; transportation & logistics; and travel, tourism & hospitality. Also available are government statistics, such as unemployment rates, births, and deaths. For business research, outlook reports, market research reports, country reports, dossiers, surveys, and industry reports are available.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
U.S. company data covering approximately 10,000 public companies and their SEC filings. Includes: U.S. Annual Reports: Easy-to-access current and historical annual reports; International company data. Online version of: Mergent industrial manual, Mergent international manual, Mergent bank & finance manual, Mergent OTC industrial manual, Mergent OTC unlisted manual, and Mergent public utility & transportation manual.
Hoovers Company Profiles This link opens in a new window
In-depth company profiles including operations, officers, strategies, competitors, histories, locations, products & brand names, and financial information Also known as Business Market Research Collection.
Gale Business Insights This link opens in a new window
Thousands of global company, country and business topic overviews featuring detailed information as well as interactive rankings and statistics, with quick links to associated content. Global Histories, SWOT Reports, Thomson Reuters Company Financials and Investment Reports, Market Share Reports, and Industry Research Essays. Full-text articles from academic journals, business periodicals, newswires and other media outlets, 200 business executive video interviews and lessons for deeper insight into issues and decision-making. Thousands of interactive LiveCharts for economic and business indicators that let researchers generate their own analyses and custom charts for reports and presentations.

Security & Exchange Commission - FREE for Current Years
All publicly held companies in the USA must file financial reports with SEC. This includes foreign companies that are registered and traded in the USA.

Private Company Information

PrivCo for Private Companies - PrivCo Website
PrivCo from SJPL - Sign in here

This is an SJPL database, login with San Jose Library Card 14-digit barcode. It is good beyond graduation. Make sure to keep your library card active.

Factiva This link opens in a new window
General news and company, industry, and other business information (mostly full-text) from newspapers, newswires, magazines, trade journals in 22 languages from 118 countries. Also includes color photos from Reuters and Knight-Ridder publications, company reports, SEC filings, web contents, and transcripts from BBC, ABC, CBS, NBC, Fox, CNN, NPR and more.

Company Directories

Reference USA Business Directory (A SJPL directory, login with San Jose Library Card, NOT SJSU Tower ID)

The premier directory of business and residential information. Access information on over 24 million businesses. Great for job/sales leads, market & consumer research. Searches can be customized with many filters down to a street block, ethnic groups, etc.