SJSU Research Guides: Library and Information Science: Encyclopedias & More

Gather Background Information

Why should you start your research project by gathering background information? Because it will:

Get you familiar with your topic
Let you see the big picture
Provide you with a focus for a specific area within the topic
Identify different views on the topic

The reference resources listed on this page are great for getting an overview of your topic and will help you find keywords for your database searches.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Library and Information Sciences This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopedia of Library and Information Sciences, now in its fourth edition, compiles the contributions of major researchers and practitioners and explores the cultural institutions of more than 30 countries.

Encyclopedia of Information Science and Technology, 4th Edition
Find articles on current concepts, issues and emerging technologies.
Encyclopedia of Cyber Behavior
A collection of articles on human behavior in the cyber realm. Includes topics such as social media, e-learning, e-voting, e-shopping, e-privacy, and e-therapy.

Encyclopaedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Before there was Wikipedia...
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference allows you to search across over 100 reference titles simultaneously.

Dictionaries and Glossaries

Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Information Technology and Systems
A guide to the vocabulary of information technology and systems.
ODLIS, Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science
ODLIS includes not only the terminology of the various specializations within LIS but also the vocabulary of publishing, printing, binding, the book trade, graphic arts, book history, literature, bibliography, telecommunications, and computer science.
more...less...
A reference resource for library and information science professionals, university students and faculty, and the general reader and library user. The primary criterion for including a new term is whether a librarian or other information professional might reasonably be expected to encounter it at some point in his or her career. The technical vocabulary of publishing, printing, book history, and computer science has been included when, in the author's judgment, a definition might prove helpful, not only to library and information professionals, but also to laypersons.

Oxford English Dictionary Online This link opens in a new window
An extremely comprehensive dictionary which provides the history of each word defined.

Multilingual Glossary of Library Terms
Common library terms translated into Chinese, Korean, Japanese, French, Spanish, Arabic, and Vietnamese.