NuFS 144 - Food Culture - Consuming Passions

Below is a list of e-books that can be used for background information.  The print books can be requested through OneSearch, if available, and be held at the circulation desk for pickup.  However, there is a lag time in this process.  For details visit our library FAQ page at https://library.sjsu.edu/library-faqs.

Selected List of Print Books                  

• Cambridge World History of Food (TX 353.C255 2000) (8th Floor)
• Encyclopedia of Holidays and Celebrations (GT3930 .E53 2006) (Reference Lower Level)
• Folklore of World Holidays (GT3930 .F65) (5th Floor)
• Marriage Customs of the World: An Encyclopedia of Dating Customs and Wedding Traditions (GT2690 .M65 2013) (Reference Lower Level)
• World Atlas of Food (TX725.A1 W66) (1st Floor - on reserve)

Selected List of E-Books for Background Information

• Encyclopedia of Food and Health (Online access)
• Foods that Changed History Online access as well as a hard copy TX 349 .C86 2015)
• Holiday Symbols and Customs (Online access)
• Sage Encyclopedia of Food Issues (Online access)
• Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America (Online access)
• Food and Drink: the Cultural Context (Online access)
• Marriage Customs of the World: From Henna to Honeymoon (Online access)
• The Mythology of America's Seasonal Holidays (Online access)
• Routledge History of Food (Online access)
• Pasta and Noodles: A Global History (Online access)
• Every Nation has It's Dish: Black Bodies and Black Food in Twentieth Century America (Online access)
• Celebrating Life Customs Around the World (Online access)
• Food Feasts and Faith: An Encyclopedia of Food Cultures in World Religions (Online access)
• Nectar & Ambrosia: An Encyclopedia of Food in World Mythology (Online access)
• Gale Ebooks (A collection of ebooks - online access)