The Geography and Map Division of the Library of Congress holds more than 4.5 million items, of which these Map Collections represents only a small fraction, those that have been converted to digital form.
The David Rumsey Collection focuses primarily on cartography of the Americas from the 18th and 19th centuries, but also has maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania. The collection includes atlases, globes, school geographies, books, maritime charts, and a variety of separate maps, including pocket, wall, children's and manuscript.
From the U.S. Geological Survey's (USGS) National Geospatial Program, The National Map is a collaborative effort among the USGS and other federal, state, and local partners to improve and deliver topographic information for the nation.
Sanborn Maps are historical maps that include information such as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, heights, and function of structures, location of windows and doors. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. This database is for California only.
Census Bureau maps show how the population of the U.S. is located with respect to factors such as ethnic background, geographic area, political boundaries, and other special purpose groupings. Maps are organized into two categories: Reference Maps and Thematic Maps. Select the description link located beneath each map title to access more information about each map.
FedStats provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic. With convenient searching and linking capabilities to more than 100 agencies that provide data and trend information on such topics as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more.
Presents statistical & quantitative history of the United States from the earliest times to the present. Contains more than 37,000 annual time series of historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations. Each series is fully documented and placed in historical context by a recognized expert.
Full text of the 32-volume Encyclopædia Britannica; additional articles and images not available in the print set); Merriam-Webster Collegiate Dictionary & Thesaurus; over 130,000 links to web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors.
This database combines the in-depth, original profiles of Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated, plus the thorough periodicals coverage of Biography Index, full-text articles, page images, and abstracts from the complete range of Wilson databases (including biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries). It covers over 500,000 people and includes over 36,000 images.
he Oxford Reference Online Premium contains about 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University press. It also contains a range of key titles from the acclaimed oxford Companion Series, plus the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations.
The World Book Online Reference Center (now called World Book Student), includes the articles of the World Book Encyclopedia, a Biography Center, dictionary, atlas, an extensive multimedia collection, thousands of editor-selected Web sites, correlations to curriculum standards, and much more.